Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe has really good flavor and my husband (who doesn't like sweet salads) even liked it. I changed the sesame seeds to sunflower seeds and used olive oil instead of salad oil. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think that 2 packages of Ramen noodles is too much. You get too many noodles and not enough slaw. Next time I make this I will only use 1 package of noodles but still two seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Disappointing. I kept adding more things to get a more interesting flavor, but no matter what I tried it just tasted like raw veggies in soy sauce. Lacking in complexity and authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was easy and different which I always like but too high in calories for a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I used sunflower seeds as well. Great party side dish for picnic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I've made a simular recipe to this for years, but this is way better. Toasting the noodles and nuts is the key to making this taste great! I used only one packet of seasoning, no sesame seeds (I didn't have any), used olive oil in place of the butter to make it healthier and it turned out very tasty. I can't wait to try this out on friends/family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Skip the butter and halve the oil (used olive not salad oil) and sugar. I'm sharing this recipe with a friend who doesn't like the mayo slaw recipes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is our family's favorite slaw recipe. I use whatever almonds I have on hand (pictured with sliced) and exchange brown sugar for white, as I feel it gives a better flavor. Be sure to use bagged broccoli slaw (found in the produce section near the bagged shredded cole slaw) and not broccoli florets. This is what makes the recipe! We will make this again and again, it's always a favorite and is delicious served with barbecue. Make it ahead of time so the flavors have a chance to blend. It's also great as a leftover the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was quick to make, tasty and filling....bonus! I did make a few changes: I poured 1 pkg of broccoli coleslaw mix in a large bowl and added and crushed 1 pkg of ramen noodle. I purchased the Olde Cape Cod's soy sesame ginger vignagrette (fat free) and used 1/2c of this in place of the almonds, sesame seeds and salad oil. I did add the 1/4c red wine vinegar as someone suggested in the reviews, 1/2c + of the green onion, 4 tblsp of sugar, and 2 tblsp of low sodium soy sauce and the seasoning packet from the ramen noodle. I also added some black pepper for an extra kick. I tossed these ingredients well and it turned out great. For my own needs, I added a tsp of EVOO in my individual bowl. I ate this with a few slices of turkey sausage and it was yummy. Thanks for the submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing! My mom made it and brought it to my birthday party luau and it was a huge hit! no leftovers what so ever! I made this again last night and served with some spicy Asian noodles, soo good! The only thing I do differently is leave out the butter to reduce calories. Instead, I just sprayed a little cooking spray on the ramen noodles before baking. Still very tasty and so easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've had this cole slaw before, but didn't have the recipe. I used this exactly as stated, but used coleslaw mix without broccoli (what I had on hand) and increased the slivered almonds since I had a bit more than needed for the recipe. I did feel the salad dressing needed some more flavor, and next time will increase the soy sauce (low sodium) and use some garlic oil, too. All-in-all a good recipe, just needs some tweaking for this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States