Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is a great slaw/salad! I have made it for parties and potlucks and everyone always wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Delicious! I followed the suggestions of others and toasted the dry ingredients in a frying pan that I'd sprayed with cooking spray. I also substituted 2 tablespoons of sesame oil for some of the vegetable oil, which gave it great flavor. I didn't have oriental-flavored ramen, so I used chicken-flavored ramen and only used one seasoning packet. I used sesame seeds, but I think it would also be good with sunflower seeds. The great thing about this salad is that you can make the dressing and dry ingredients ahead of time and then just open a bag of broccoli slaw and toss it together quickly right before you eat. The ramen noodle/almond/sesame mix makes a lot, easily enough that you could double the amount of broccoli slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
The soy sauce makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
As with any good recipe..you can always tweek it for personal tastes. I have found that it is a popular dish to pass..but when traveling..prep the dressing, slaw, and toasted ingredients and toss just before serving. In fact...making the dressing a day ahead of time maximizes the taste of the salad as a whole. It is a good Asian marinade as well...I added fresh ginger and sesame oil and it paired great with Red Snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I think this may be the first time I rated a recipe here, I HAD TO RATE THIS ONE! LOVE IT, even our broccoli haters loved it! The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar, I used half of what it called for. I'll be making this over and over and over. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERB1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
family loves this, just have to eat it all, no leftovers-yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymiller333
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
my husband i and i really enjoy this dish. i did modify a little. i didnt bake the noodles, almonds and sesame seeds. i just sautee them in a pan. just cause im lazy. but this always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nichole
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great alternative to heavy mayo based dressings. I cook the noodles in olive oil for a healthier option and use sunflower seeds instead of sesamie. I also use 2 (12 oz) bags of slaw. I love vinegar too, so I use about 1/2 cup as it really mellows as it sits and I add both seasoning packets. Salad can be made in advance, but add noodles at last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I must say this was delicious with a few changes:1) Instead of baking noodles, almonds and seeds, spray a frying pan with cooking spray and add noodles for 3 minutes, then almond slices or slivers for 2 minutes and then sesame seeds for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently-to-constantly; remove from heat and allow to cool while you mix the slaw. 2)The dressing for the slaw is truly wonderful if you use a combination of toasted sesame oil and olive oil (more olive than sesame) with rice vinegar in place of the apple cider vinegar. You will be pleasantly surprised that the addition of the green onions and flavor packet is not necessary. 3)Top each serving with the cooled noodle mix. I serve this with a crock-pot recipe for asian country style porkribs. SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Really good. I used some chinese noodles from the salad section of the grocery store instead of Ramen. I also used mustard seeds which gave it some spice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States