Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I toasted without the butter--less fat, but still brought out the smokiness of seeds and almonds. Nice balance between sweet and sour in the dressing. Got rave reviews at recent family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful, but I made a few alterations. First of all I sauteed the ramen noodles & nuts (I used pecans & sunflowers seeds) in a pan until golden brown, much quicker than the oven. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup and added less oil to the dressing. I forgot the soy sauce, but will use the reduced-salt kind next time I make this. I only had a reg. onion so I chopped it and added it to the brocolli. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made the recipe as stated except I only had about 1/4 cup almonds so I added sunflower seeds to make 3/4 cup. In my opinion, too much butter, too much dressing; both can be cut in half. I would have given it more stars if it were a healthier version. Delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for pitch ins no matter what time of year. My friends ask me to bring this to their New Years party every year and I bring my bowl back empty every time. The recipe calls for sesame seeds but I use sunflower seeds instead. In the interest of health, this year I am going to use less of the dressing and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I love this slaw, but if you are making it for a crowd, know that there will be two camps: those that love vinegar (and hence love this unusual dish) and those that prefer creamy slaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I found it a little bland and a little sweet. It's a good base for another try with more pizzaz. I did add chicken to it and I think there would have been way too much dressing if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
good recipe but more complicated than it needs to be. Use roasted/salted sunflower seeds, did not do noodles in butter. Decreased sugar to 1/4C and used C&H light w/Stevia. Also only 1/4C olive oil, 1/4C rice wine vinegar. Soy sauce was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Lovely!!! I substituted Ghee for the butter, which really gives this a nice nutty flavor on top of the almonds and used Agave instead of the sugar. Great job! Angie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
this is good but I use way less butter and sugar. Less than half the butter, and less than 1/4 c of sugar! Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States