Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
FABULOUS! As written, this recipe is amazing. My whole family loves it. And yes, it is very versatile. I've substituted sesame oil, peanut oil, vinegars, left out butter.... They are all great as well. Some versions are quicker and I use those when pressed for time. The original, as written recipe will always be my favorite though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
this salad is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Steve really likes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cbarker
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great but too much soy for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Following the advice of others, I put a mixture of sesame oil and olive oil in the dressing (mostly olive oil) and cut back the vinegar. I also used the Ramen noodles but discarded the (gross) flavor package. Next time I would use chow mein noodles. Overall it is pretty good and healthier than traditional cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was really good. I followed the instructions exactly but accidentally forgot the sugar. I tossed in 2 small cans of mandarin oranges instead and was very pleased with the results. Love happy accidents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I toasted without the butter--less fat, but still brought out the smokiness of seeds and almonds. Nice balance between sweet and sour in the dressing. Got rave reviews at recent family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wonderful, but I made a few alterations. First of all I sauteed the ramen noodles & nuts (I used pecans & sunflowers seeds) in a pan until golden brown, much quicker than the oven. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup and added less oil to the dressing. I forgot the soy sauce, but will use the reduced-salt kind next time I make this. I only had a reg. onion so I chopped it and added it to the brocolli. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made the recipe as stated except I only had about 1/4 cup almonds so I added sunflower seeds to make 3/4 cup. In my opinion, too much butter, too much dressing; both can be cut in half. I would have given it more stars if it were a healthier version. Delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for pitch ins no matter what time of year. My friends ask me to bring this to their New Years party every year and I bring my bowl back empty every time. The recipe calls for sesame seeds but I use sunflower seeds instead. In the interest of health, this year I am going to use less of the dressing and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States