Chinese Braised Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I'm a real pork lover & make this dish regularly with just a couple of revisions. I use pork loin roast instead of ribs and - for the rich flavor some reviewers found lacking - I reserve and strain the par-boil water and use it to simmer the recipe. Do not boil longer than 3-5 minutes or it dries out the meat. You want it to simmer in the other flavors until fully cooked. I often substitute the green onion with sweet onion slices, as that's what I have on hand. Use one T. ground ginger if you don't have fresh ginger - it's just as good - and I double the cinnamon. The 1/4 tsp. pepper may be a bit hot for small kids. Both my grown sons, who've never cared for pork, really love this dish. I serve it with Sesame noodles and pea pods as sides, for a great Asian-style meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
very tasty, and the cinnamon is a nice touch. i cut down the water a LOT based on the reviews and this probably helped with the flavour. i quadrupled the recipe for 4 lbs of ribs but still used on 2 cups of water. simmered covered x 1 hr in a dutch oven and then reduced for another half and hour uncovered. to cut down on the fat, i scoop out the ribs and drain the oil from the sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker. I just put all the ingridients in at once and let it cook all day. It was so flavorful and delicious and tender. Even my picky two year old ate it! This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have to admit I did use country style ribs instead of the spareribs so my recipe could have changed because of that. The ribs were dry in spite of being in all that water. There were suttle flavors so the kids liked the meat. Next time I may try the fattier spareribs and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were very tender but there wasn't a lot of flavor. Apart from doubling up on the seasonings, I don't know how to improve this. Marinate the ribs in something? I won't be making these again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I tried this last night for dinner and used 500 g back ribs and 250 g pork chops that I sliced into inch-wide strips, to make 8 servings. I didn't have any rice wine in the kitchen, so I substituted it with sesame oil. My family loved it! My brother is picky but he said it was really good. Didn't expect the meat to be so flavorful because I didn't have an hour to simmer it, but it came out great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arleneteng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baguio City, Benguet, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Not bad. Could have used a little more taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fong Chun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was great - so tender and a good, simple flavor. I used boneless pork spareribs - they were super fatty so I took off as much fat as I could and boiling them initially as suggested was also very helpful. I followed the instructions except didn't add any salt or pepper. I let the pork boil for about 2 hours but when I tried it after 1 hour, I could tell it was already very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susanne
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it was very easy to make and required very little preparation. I was a little nervous when I first started cooking it because it seemed like there was a lot of cinnamon, but it was okay after it simmered for an hour. Also, this recipe isn't very salty, so you might want to add more soy sauce or salt to it so it isn't so bland. This recipe is a good starting point, but it seems to be lacking a lot of spices and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
sooooo delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States