Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
It was delicious! I left out the food coloring, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Will try it on company now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Excellent taste. First time I have made ribs and these came out excellent! I followed the recipe down to the letter including using the red food coloring. I like salty so when I make it next time I will put a little more soy sauce. Also I will puncture the ribs with a fork before marinating them to absorb more flavor. I will let them marinade at least 3 hours. This is important because as the ribs cook, the sauce drips down into the pan of water so it is wise to saturate the ribs and maybe basting every 15 minutes may not be a bad idea. But I dont want to be bothered, so I think the steps above will improve the recipe to give more flavor on the inside. These ribs where fall of the bone and succulent but I like mine a little crispier and burnt a little which is why I advise after the hour in the oven is done I would turn up the heat in the oven and let 'em roast an extra 5-10 minutes to make the outsides more crispy. Must also say that the leftovers taste even better than the fresh batch. The leftovers that sat overnight in the fridge had even more flavor the next afternoon when I microwaved them. I made them with the chinese chicken fried rice recipe from allrecipes.com and got many compliments. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I just made these ribs and everyone went wild! What a fantastic recipe. I didn't cook them on a broiler pan with the water. I put them single layer on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees on convection roast. I changed the foil on the cookie sheet and then basted them with some fresh marinade I made. Put them back in on convection roast for another 5 minutes and basted them one more time. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. Finger licking good!! This recipe is a keeper. I also served it with the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe I got off of allrecipes.com. Great dinner!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were delicious and did taste like Chinese style spareribs. I was only cooking one rack of baby back ribs (about 2 lbs.)but made the sauce for 4 lbs. of ribs. I did not change one thing in the recipe except for the cooking time. I cook ribs constantly in the oven and I know that mine would not have been done in 1 hour at 300 unless I had parboiled them first. I ended up cooking them for 2 hours and basting them every 30 minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes for the 2nd hour - which explains why I used up all the sauce. I broiled them for 3 minutes before I took them out which gave them that nice charred flavor and look that you get in the restaurant. This was easy and I will be making this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I omitted the food coloring. The flavor was wonderful. I finished off the ribs by putting them under the broiler for about four minutes on each side. The only thing I'd do different next time is roast them longer so that the meat comes off the bone easier. This was a family pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I loved this recipe, easy and good. I would have given it 5 stars, but I cheated on the recipe alittle...I didn't have cranberry sauce, so I used duck sauce. It was just like the chinese ribs...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Just like Chinese restaurant ribs - broiled them for a couple minutes at the end. Perfect. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
When I found this recipe I knew right away that I had to try it. I went to the store to buy all of the ingredients I didn't have on hand and used substitues for whatever I couldn't find in the store. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of normal soy sauce, a half and half blend of regular salt and garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and because my local grocery didn't have any cooking wine I used some flat 7Up (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I just finished licking the sauce off my fingers after polishing off a bunch of these. Fantastic! These were better than some of the takeout places around here! I can't think of anything to change in this recipe. I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
These ribs are incredible! I marinated the ribs overnight and boiled the leftover marinade before using it to baste. I only added 1 step: I turned one more time, basted again, and put them under the broiler for just a minute to crisp the meaty side a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States