Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were delicious and did taste like Chinese style spareribs. I was only cooking one rack of baby back ribs (about 2 lbs.)but made the sauce for 4 lbs. of ribs. I did not change one thing in the recipe except for the cooking time. I cook ribs constantly in the oven and I know that mine would not have been done in 1 hour at 300 unless I had parboiled them first. I ended up cooking them for 2 hours and basting them every 30 minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes for the 2nd hour - which explains why I used up all the sauce. I broiled them for 3 minutes before I took them out which gave them that nice charred flavor and look that you get in the restaurant. This was easy and I will be making this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great flavor, but I based on other reviews I was expecting finger lickin' sauce. I marinated them in the "stuff" for a few hours, having taken other reviewers suggestions and stabbing the meat all over with fork so it would infuse. That definitely happened, but there wasn't any "sauciness". Fixed that by heating the leftovers up the next day in the Rice Vinegar Basting Sauce also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I just finished licking the sauce off my fingers after polishing off a bunch of these. Fantastic! These were better than some of the takeout places around here! I can't think of anything to change in this recipe. I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made these for new years party and they were great. I didn't use the 5 spice powder cause my supermarket didn't carry it. Also I used red instead of white wine and regular cranberry suace instead of jelled. First they smelled just like the restaurant then they tasted the same. So good, everyone pigged out on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These ribs are awesome. I often eat in Chinese restaurants, so I've had plenty of the ribs prepared with this style. This recipe very closely approximates and in some cases betters the ribs I've had in these restaurants. I did make a mistake. I mixed two cups of water with the marinade. After realizing my mistake, I mixed another batch of sauce and finished the recipe as written. I imagine these will only get better when I prepare them next time since the marinade will be more concentrated. These ribs are highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I don't know how they make them by you, but these were EXACTLY like the Chinese restaurants in Atlanta. They were sooo good! I used baby back ribs and followed the recipe exactly. I marinated them for about 2 hours and cooked them for an hour. I then boiled the marinade and brushed it on before serving. Everyone loved them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laralou
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
these were good. My ribs were "fatty" so they didnt turn out as good as the ones I get at the chinese restaurant. But the flavor was the same and they were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These were quite good but not as good as I'd expected based on the previous reviews. I followed the directions to the letter only adding to the cooking time like several people suggested, oh and I also marinated the ribs all day too. I think next time, I will try this with boneless ribs or babyback ribs if I can get them on sale. But the taste is extremely close to restaurant Chinese spareribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These ribs were EXCELLENT. Exactly, if not better than take out. Followed recipe ingredients, used a bit more since I had larger ribs. I also cut my ribs in half to make them more like appetizers. I took the advice of others. Marinated overnight in a zip-lock bag. Slow boiled the extra marinade (on low) before basting. I turned the ribs a few extra times than suggested and cooked a bit longer. Turned out delicious and just as good reheated the next day. I also prepared a batch and put them in the freezer with the marinade. Defrosted and baked another time, and they turned out perfect. What a time saver to have them on hand. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this last night and I have to say I will NEVER ever buy takeaway again,these were the best spareribs I have ever tasted.Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaz L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States