Chinese Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is an excellent and easy cookie. I followed the recipe exactly. There is definitely a light almond flavor if you use 1tsp of flavoring, similar to the cookies that you would find in your Chinese restaurants, but for those of you that are wanting a really strong almond flavored cookie, then you may want to increase it to 2tsp like other reviewers did. I really like the fact that the saltiness very gently stood out, giving it that salty/sweet flavor. My husband loved them and mentioned that they tasted "just as I would expect them to taste". He said they would be good in the morning with coffee too. My only recommendation would be to go very lightly on the egg white rub. I got a little carried away, and made it a little too thick on a few cookies, which caused a blotchy, brown appearance. Just give it a very light, equal coating and it will give a nice shiny appearance on top. Great cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved it! Prolly one of the best things I've made in a while. Be sure to use the recipe off of though. They always have better and more acurate recipes on there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Recipe was perfect. I added a red dot with red food coloring for the chinese style almond cookies. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nanakuli, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe! After my first (and failed) batch, I had a friend come over and help me. This time, I decided not to listen to the other reviewers and add only one teaspoon of almond extract, like the recipe said. When it came out, my two kids tasted it again and they could not stop eating, even if we were supposed to save it for my kids' Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyaanbombcat
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I think these cookies are good - do they taste like I remember the restauarants serving in the 40s and 50s - not sure but I do know that they did need more almond. I added the 1 tsp. amount and would increase it to 2 tsp. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla -and probably would do that again along with the 2 tsp. of almond flavoring. Also not very sweet which for me is OK. Instead of sliced almonds I put one salted whole almond from a can I had - and it looked more like I remember the cookies looking as a kid. I also put the egg white on before the almond as suggested by another reviewer and then did it again after I put on the almond piece. Would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made these and the only thing I did different was I added blanched, diced almonds to the batter and then baked them. Everyone loved them and there wasn't a crumb left. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very, very good! Everyone enjoyed them a lot... Although I had to substitute vanilla extract for the almond, the cookies were still amazing. My family can't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanaid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Double the almond extract, I threw a spash of high quality vanilla in - these are spectacular!! did the whole thing in the food processor and threw is 2 hands full of almonds since I did not have sliced in the cupboard. UBER EASY!! Just pulling them out of the oven this morning and do not think they will make it to desert tonight!! MMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made as directed for a Christmas cookie exchange. There were delish. Better than our chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is a good, light cookie to have. I really wanted something with almond in it and this did the trick. After reading other reviews, I did double the amount of almond extract in them, and they came out beautifully. This is definitely one I'll be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States