Chimichurri Sauce for Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I've made this twice and no one in the family liked it. I know that this recipe is authentic, but it needs salt or something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Very similar to the Argentinian restaurants I frequented in Miami. This was served in a little container on the side of a grilled skirt steak. It is used sparingly, just a touch on each bite of steak. I reduced the cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp, as I am not used to "hot" chimichurri. Also let this set overnight for better flavor, and serve it room temp. It is not supposed to be an emulsion--it is more like italian dressing--small particles in oil that you re-mix frequently. Do not use the food processor--just chop the parsley very fine and mix it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was delicious.I used it as a dipping sauce for my steak as well as a topping on my burgers way,way too fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Trinity, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I love this sauce on both steaks and chicken. I reduced the olive oil to 1/2 cup, and I don't think the flavor suffered at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Niblack Strickland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe is an exceptional marinade. I made this with Cilantro instead of the parsley and it came out perfect (I prefer the summer taste of cilantro)! I marinated it with chicken for 24 hours and grilled it to perfection. Add a sour cream dipping sauce on the side and it's a unique entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElCee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I really liked this alot!! I never measure out exactly. For this I measured everything, but the lemon. For that I squeezed 3 lemon quarters. Also, I used Red Wine Vinegar. So, it came out a little lemon-y for my taste. But, I added a little more EVOO and a couple of basil leaves and I was good to go. I put it over a thin-sliced rib eye only while cooking. The best part - steak drippings with the sauce OVER RICE. I could have eaten that all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
As a fellow Latin member I would like to explain a little bit this recipe. This marinate is meant to be very powerful. It is meant to enhance the flavor of the meat by giving it a little kick. It is not however meant to overwhelm it. Some people make the mistake of putting to much on or flooding a stake with it. This will certainly leave you with sometimes tears in your eyes or having a garlic breath that will not go away for days. In my opinion, one should slightly dip the meat in it or put a very light layer of the marinade on top of the steak. this way you taste the meat while you taste the marinade. For those people that think that the marinade taste a little bland, use very very fresh ingredients only, and if you want it to kick even more than it already does, you can add some leaves of fresh cilantro and/or cilantrillo (sorry i don't know the english word for it). Another tip is to cut the ingredients very fine by hand or you can use a blender but the lowest power. The appearance should not be like a mulch. One should be able to see all the ingredients (very small of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Only thing I have to say about this was that I was mad that my guest packed it up and left me only a corner! The look is not so appealing, but the taste is awesome, can't wait to try this during grill parties this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonda roark-martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very nice! I threw it in a large meauring cup and used my hand blender. Came out nice. If you're not a fan of fresh/raw garlic - cute down the cloves to 3 - otherwise this sauce is fantastic. I marinated a steak in some and used the "raw" sauce over it after cooking. Whatever was leftover I threw raw shrimp in to "marinate" then threw it all in a pan the next day to sautee, diluted it with a bit of water and served it over linguine. Definitely a do over for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Tasted just like our favorite Spanish restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States