Chilled Tomato and Avocado Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Gives a new twist to gazpacho and a very tasty, good recipe. I let everyone add their own cayenne as I do not like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a hit, I made it as the starter for christmas dinner here in South America and my guests raved about it- Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yummy! I doubled this for our family of big eaters. I cut the tomato juice by 2 cups (in a doubled recipe) and used half lemon half lime juice as I was out of lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this just as written except that I only used 6 oz of yogurt. It turned out great, although visually it was very unappealing, as another reviewer mentioned. I really enjoyed the flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This soup is delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Fresh and creamy!!!! Excellent!!! Many people at the teacher luncheon wanted the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
An excellent cold soup. I doubled the recipe, used very large avocados, added 1/2 cup more tomato juice, and served 11 people nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was good and very refreshing. The soup is definitely more tomato than avocado. Would be delicious with real sour cream (of course). I also wonder if it would be better with lime juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJ's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I thought this soup was very tasty, and my family enjoyed it as well! It was a great idea for lunch on a hot day (we had mexican blt sandwiches as well). I did saute the onion and the bell pepper just a tad before adding them to the soup because my family would not have enjoyed it as much if those ingredients were too overpowering. I also seasoned it with a little black pepper (in addition to the cayenne), and I only used 2.5 cups (20 oz) of vegetable juice instead of a quart of tomato juice. I really wanted to taste the avocado because I was using some nice ripe ones. I processed it in a food processor and then put it in a blender to make it smoother, and I really don't think it looked unappealing at all. It has a similar texture and color to many bisque-like soups. Once it was garnished, it actually looked quite pleasant, and it turned out to be tasty as well. This recipe may not fit everyone's personal taste, but it is certainly worth a try! I will definitely make it again! :) Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Hm...you must like mild guacamole, because I doubled the lemon juice, added more cayenne, some cumin and chili powder. I used low sodium V8 juice for the tomato juice. And did not peel the tomato. Overall, very good. I love the silky texture of the avocado and the yogurt. I think it would be good topped with crumbled feta or cojita cheese. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States