Chilled Tomato and Avocado Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
An excellent cold soup. I doubled the recipe, used very large avocados, added 1/2 cup more tomato juice, and served 11 people nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Gives a new twist to gazpacho and a very tasty, good recipe. I let everyone add their own cayenne as I do not like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I really disliked this soup; the taste of onion and tomato juice totally overpowered the avocado. Tasted like acidic salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was good and very refreshing. The soup is definitely more tomato than avocado. Would be delicious with real sour cream (of course). I also wonder if it would be better with lime juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
You could not taste the avocado at all and the green pepper was very overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Made this recipe using half the amount of onion and green pepper the recipe called for (as per other comments). I really hoped to like this since it is so healthy, but found it just "okay". It seemed to acidic for both my husband and me -- I was just a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good, but I tweaked it quite a bit. I didn't use tomato juice or yogurt; instead, I blended two very large beefsteak tomatoes (for a total of 3). I omitted the onion, and I added raw corn cut from the cob for some texture and a little sweetness. I also chopped a third avocado and stirred it in. I blended in about 1/3 cup of cilantro, added 1 tsp of sea salt, and added a sprinkle of cumin to each bowl. I may add garlic next time. A note about the flavor: With 32 oz of tomato juice, this is not going to taste like avocado. The avocado is used only to add a creamy texture. This soup has a nice flavor, but if you're looking for an avocado-flavored soup, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I just made this soup, and everybody liked it except for my 3 year old nephew. My niece (who is two) loved it though, she is currently completely covered in it. I also did not have any onions, so I added two spring onions, and I added less than what the recipe called for in tomato juice (I think about half), and instead of mincing the tomatoes, I chopped them, and added them. I made steamed asparagus, minted corn and goat cheese baguette, and shrimp in a parsley and garlic sauce with it(I had to feed a whole lot of people), and it was all OK, except maybe for the asparagus (it just doesn't really fit). Everything has been eaten. It really is a bit intense for a main dish, I think it would be fantastic as a starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a hit, I made it as the starter for christmas dinner here in South America and my guests raved about it- Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I really wanted this soup to be good but it was pretty awful. I feel kind of upset that I wasted a really good avocados. the soup is too acidic and the onion was overpowering and i only used half. also, the color of soup was not appealing what so ever. the green from the avocado and the red tomato do not make a pretty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States