Chilled Strawberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I made a lower-fat version with "light" vanilla soy milk, non-fat sour cream and fat free half and half. I also doubled the berries. It was really wonderful and supercreamy. I didn't miss the fat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by losangeles71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I was looking for a recipe to replicate the one I had on a Carnival cruise several years ago and THIS IS IT! I've made this recipe many, many times and I love it! I usually add a little more sugar than the recipe calls for. If I'm making it for a special occasion, I'll use whole milk and regular sour cream. If I'm making it just for me, I'll use skim milk and low-fat sour cream. It still tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donut1130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Absolutely wow!!!!! I cannot believe people did not like this. I have been back into the soup turine five times since making this one and a half hours ago. My kids have each had two servings and this was because they couldn't wait until dinner. I decided to add ground cinnamon because it took the flavors to another level (I have a great strawberry bread recipe that has a lot of cinnamon in it and I was basing my decision to add on that recipe). Anyhow, the cinnamon adds a nice bit of color as well and doesn't make it as pink. Try this recipe and fall in love with it. It makes such an ample amount. I did go ahead an increase the sugar as well but did it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
I have always wanted to try a cold fruit soup, buit never had the occasion. I made this today for a women's luncheon and everyone polished off their bowls and gave great compliments. I did not add sugar, as the frozen strawberries I bought had added sugar. It was perfect. I'm going to try this again only with peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was a hit at a tea luncheon I had this past Saturday. I made it low fat and no one knew it. I doubled the berries, used fat free half and half instead of the milk and heavy cream and used low fat sourcream. I did use the sugar and I chopped some strawberries for the soup. I also garnished with strawberry slices on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This was very good. I used half & half instead of the heavy cream, & used light sour cream. The strawberries I bought were unsweetened & I had to add half a cup of sugar instead of only 2 T. For the people who said there wasn't enough sugar, they most likely got unsweeted strawberries like I did. The store didn't have sweetened. No one else mentioned this but all of it didn't fit in the blender. I put it all in & after the strawberries crused, it overflowed. I had to blend the rest in 2 batches. I cut up some fresh strawberries to put in the soup & topped it with a little whipped cream. The flavors really develop if you let it chill overnight. It was a nice dessert on a hot summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I had some chilled Strawberry Soup at a tea last year, and was so surprised how good it was. I was delighted to find this recipe on Allrecipes. I altered the recipe a little. I did use the cup of half and half but used 1 cup of sour cream instead of the 1/2 cup it called for, I did not add the milk, but instead added 1/2 cup of white wine, and I increased the sugar to just a bit over 1/3 of a cup. I'm attending a tea in September and cannot wait to bring this to the event. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I increased this recipe for 18 to serve a Kiwanis luncheon. They all loved it. I think next time I will add a little more milk at the last minute because I made it the day before and it was a little thick, but great! I'm going to try it with peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I have been searching for this recipe since our cruise 8 years ago.. Thank you very much it's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Light and tasty! i cooked this for a group of sorority house women and they loved it. I made this the day before to let the flavors develop and used light sour cream, half and half and sweet and low. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States