Chilled Strawberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Light and tasty! i cooked this for a group of sorority house women and they loved it. I made this the day before to let the flavors develop and used light sour cream, half and half and sweet and low. LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This recipe is fantastic and is a delightful treat for the whole family. The only problem is that this recipe does not add enough sugar. I know this sounds abd is ridiculously fattening but you need to add AT LEAST a cup and a half of sugar to be sweet enough. Adding whipped cream doesn't work and only weakens the strawberry taste. Only use it as a topping if you must. Otherwise, this is a great recipe and delicous treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Absolutely wow!!!!! I cannot believe people did not like this. I have been back into the soup turine five times since making this one and a half hours ago. My kids have each had two servings and this was because they couldn't wait until dinner. I decided to add ground cinnamon because it took the flavors to another level (I have a great strawberry bread recipe that has a lot of cinnamon in it and I was basing my decision to add on that recipe). Anyhow, the cinnamon adds a nice bit of color as well and doesn't make it as pink. Try this recipe and fall in love with it. It makes such an ample amount. I did go ahead an increase the sugar as well but did it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
who needs all those calories and fat! Try the other "lighter" version - it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I've never tried fruit soup before but needed to use up some strawberries before they went bad and I thought this recipe was pretty good. My fiance thought it was weird-tasting but me and the kids liked it (they thought it tasted like Go-Gurt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS. EVEN AFTER ADDING SEVERAL TABLESPOONS OF SUGAR, IT STILL WAS NOT SWEET ENOUGH. OUT OF DESPERATION, SINCE I WAS SERVING IT TO COMPANY, I FOLDING A LITTLE COOL WHIP INTO IT. IT ENDED UP TASTING LIKE A BOWL OF MELTED ICE CREAM. ALSO, I DON'T THINK IT HAD NEARLY ENOUGH OF A STRAWBERRY TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Served as a first course, everyone finished it all! I used fat free sour cream and reg whip cream and frozen (unsweetened) strawberries. It still sounds fattening but it was a hit. I'm going to try fat free cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Yum - served this at lunch to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
I rated this recipe a year ago, and decided that I just had to rate it again. This is my absolute favorite recipe, and I make this soup all the time! It's wonderful! I don't know how people couldn't love this. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I tried the lower-fat version (the one with yogurt) which we really liked, and this one is delicious too. I think we'll serve this milk/cream/sour cream version when we have guests and the lower-fat version for regular use. This would be a perfect summer soup with bread and a crispy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States