Chilled Strawberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is OK. It's more like a watered-down smoothie, rather than a fruit soup. I've never taken a Carnival Cruise, so, perhaps ,for the folks who have, this evokes happy food memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
So good it should be a dessert. I served this for a get together with a group of mother's on a hot summer day. It was the perfect choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made it as is and was not to thrilled with the outcome. My sister and I both felt that the flavor was missing something. It seems like a good recipe to build off of, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I thought this was close to Carnival's recipe, but I did tweak it to suit my taste. I used 4c thawed unsweetend strawberries, 2c milk, 1 1/2c heavy cream, 3/4c sour cream and 1/2c sugar. My family is going to love this. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayehareeh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
A sweet treat. I had a "soup party" and the kids all loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
The best!! I'm going to have to keep myself from making it everyday, I most enjoy it for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Used 2 10oz bags of frozen organic strawberries and upped the sugar to 3T. These were the only changes. Next time I will use half and half instead of cream as the fat was a little too much. However, it was fantastic! My daughter said that we had to add it to our family recipe book because it was the best soup she's ever had (and she loves soup). I served it with cinnamon sugar pita chips which were wonderful crushed slightly and put on top as a garnish. Fantastic!!! Will definitely make this again and again. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used 2 packets of Splenda to sweeten this instead of sugar. Also used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. Overall, taste was good. However, I feel like I'd need to work with this recipe again to see if I could get the fat down-- 20g per serving seems really high to me! Assuming most of that is coming from the heavy cream, I'd try to cut the portion of that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
It had a good flavor so I liked that but like another person said,it was really like melted strawberry ice cream. Maybe I'll try it on that cruise and find out for myself what that one is like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was OK and that's about it. I had a Chilled Strawberry soup on a cruise once and it was absolutley awesome. I wanted to try something similar but this one fell short. I gave it 3 stars and that was being generous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELA96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States