Chilled Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Super easy to make. Im not fond of beets, but my husband loves it. I didn't have sour cream on hand, so used kefir and omitted the water. Great and super low calorie as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
best beet soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
bland; too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I love cold soups, but usually you have to cook something then chill it. This is so easy. I thought it had the perfect tang from the lemon and sour cream ( I used reduced fat ) and we didn't even notice the onion ( I used half a Vidalia ) My only complaint was I didn't make enough! Oh and in my house - real men do eat pink soup! Thanks for a great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Incredibly delicious chilled sour soup (if you don't enjoy sour soups, skip this recipe) I replaced the sour cream with fat free greek yogurt, added crunchy cucumber to the finished soup and garnished with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I hate to review a bad review, but sometimes (no, usually always) its warranted! This soup tastes like you think it would, on the sour side(hello!?!?). It doesn't have a large amount of ingredients, but lots of sour cream and lemon juice=sour! A truly "experienced" cook can modify or expand a recipe just by reading it. I am not a chef, but read cookbooks like I read a book. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wow, this is really good and easy. I caramelized the onions in butter the second time I made it and it was a bit sweeter and less strong with the onion flavor. Last time I substituted part yogurt and it reduced the calories/fat and gave it a little bit of a sour kick. Great (and healthy) way to use beets from my veggie box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
What could be simpler - pretty and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I love this recipe. I grew up eating beets, so I expected the beet taste and knew it would be pink. I actually enjoy it more than borscht since the beet taste comes through much more with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Good beet soup. Unless you really love onion, you might find it's best to cut down on it a bit. A couple of Tablespoons is enough to give it good flavor for our tastes. I'm surprised at the reviews who didn't like the color. Of course it will be pink. Beets aren't white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States