Chilled Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
What could be simpler - pretty and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Incredibly delicious chilled sour soup (if you don't enjoy sour soups, skip this recipe) I replaced the sour cream with fat free greek yogurt, added crunchy cucumber to the finished soup and garnished with feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Wow, this is really good and easy. I caramelized the onions in butter the second time I made it and it was a bit sweeter and less strong with the onion flavor. Last time I substituted part yogurt and it reduced the calories/fat and gave it a little bit of a sour kick. Great (and healthy) way to use beets from my veggie box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I love cold soups, but usually you have to cook something then chill it. This is so easy. I thought it had the perfect tang from the lemon and sour cream ( I used reduced fat ) and we didn't even notice the onion ( I used half a Vidalia ) My only complaint was I didn't make enough! Oh and in my house - real men do eat pink soup! Thanks for a great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I am not a great beet lover. However, this was fantastic. It took longer to wash and dry the blender than it did to make the soup. How do you spell "scrumptious"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I added extra lemon juice (one whole lemon), onion, salt, lots of pepper and an entire 8 oz container of sour cream (plus extra for garnish), then added ice water until it was the right consistency I made this as a starter for a vegetarian dinner party, and everyone LOVED it. Delicious and simple!! My favorite kind of recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is a gorgeous soup. It really needs sweet (maui) onions. We used red onions and it was way too oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This soup is delicious! I used roasted beets and vidalia onion and followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fast, easy, and rich and tasty. Be sure you use a mild sweet onion since it is raw and the flavor clearly comes through. A very gourmet looking and tasting recipe yet so so easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Wow! I made this soup on the hottest saturday here in california. I used 1/2 a Maui Sweet onion and ate it all the soup myself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I love this recipe. I grew up eating beets, so I expected the beet taste and knew it would be pink. I actually enjoy it more than borscht since the beet taste comes through much more with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States