Chilled Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I am not a great beet lover. However, this was fantastic. It took longer to wash and dry the blender than it did to make the soup. How do you spell "scrumptious"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I added extra lemon juice (one whole lemon), onion, salt, lots of pepper and an entire 8 oz container of sour cream (plus extra for garnish), then added ice water until it was the right consistency I made this as a starter for a vegetarian dinner party, and everyone LOVED it. Delicious and simple!! My favorite kind of recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This is a gorgeous soup. It really needs sweet (maui) onions. We used red onions and it was way too oniony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I hate giving bad reviews, but as an experienced cook I just couldn't let this one get by. I put it on my dinner table and polite guests were dumping it back into the serving pot! It was mortifying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This soup is delicious! I used roasted beets and vidalia onion and followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fast, easy, and rich and tasty. Be sure you use a mild sweet onion since it is raw and the flavor clearly comes through. A very gourmet looking and tasting recipe yet so so easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Wow! I made this soup on the hottest saturday here in california. I used 1/2 a Maui Sweet onion and ate it all the soup myself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I ENJOYED THIS SOUP, BUT MY HUSBAND DIDN'T. HE DIDN'T LIKE IT CAUSE IT WAS PINK. IT'S GREAT, AND COOLS YOU DOWN, WHEN YOU EAT IT. THANKS FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Wow, I don't know what to say, this was really, really not good. Neither my boyfriend or I are picky eaters at all, and we both like all of the ingredients individually; however, we poured this down the drain. I think part of it is the color--it may be natural, but it just doesn't look like anything you want to put into your body. After that, I'm not sure if it was the lemon or the onion (and I even cut back a bit on the onion), but something just wasn't right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Good beet soup. Unless you really love onion, you might find it's best to cut down on it a bit. A couple of Tablespoons is enough to give it good flavor for our tastes. I'm surprised at the reviews who didn't like the color. Of course it will be pink. Beets aren't white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I love this recipe. I grew up eating beets, so I expected the beet taste and knew it would be pink. I actually enjoy it more than borscht since the beet taste comes through much more with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States