Chiliville Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this for our small group and it was well liked by everyone. Several people went back for seconds! I will definitely make this again. I had shredded cheese and sour cream to add if desired and I served corn bread and a salad to go along with it. I liked it so much that I ate a bowl of it for breakfast the next morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a really good chili! I like the addition of sausage along with ground beef. I did sub the beef broth with beer to add more flavor, which I always do. My only complaint is that this was not spicy enough for me, but I like really spicy. This is a great chili for a crowd since it is mild enough for everyone and then guests can add more hot sauce to their own liking! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this in the slow cooker, cause I thought it would be good that way. I only made a few adjustments to the recipe. I put it in the slow cooker, of course, but I also used 1 can red kidney beans and 2 cans of northern white beans, for variety, instead of just 2 cans of red kidney. I also used plain diced tomatoes, because that is what I had on hand (and as I always say, I believe in using what's available). Since I didn't have the diced tomatoes with green peppers and onions, I added a green bell pepper, diced. I didn't have any tomato paste, so I left it out. I used some garlic powder because I didn't have enough cloves, and finally I used 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (this was an accident, but it turned out yummy, I love Worcestershire sauce, so I left it in my version of the recipe). I loved this recipe and will use it again for chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The best chili I have had! No more buying chili seasoning packets. I did adjust the sausage & beef ratio to meet our preference. I used 1/2 sausage to 3/4 beef. Other then that I served on cornbread waffles. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
my family loved this recipe. It was totally something I'd never thought about doing....was adding Italian sausage. And it soo works. Great for a Saturday night and not wanting to slave over the stove for very long. Will make again...TY so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My first ever Chili Cook Off. Didn't change a thing. And walked away with a 3rd place Ribbon. Johnsonville Hot Italian sausage was the star, every judge made a comment about how obvious it was that I used fresh top quality sausage was what caused this to stand out above all the others. Great Recipe and fun day thanks to Johnsonville.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My family loved this chili. This was my first time using italian sausage in chili and I really loved the flavor. I topped it with a little sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My teen and I made this for dinner last night - and though the whole family enjoyed it, we all agreed that it was a little too tomato-y for us, and it had more liquid than we like. To solve that, I think I would simmer at least half of the time with the lid off. We did like the combination of ground beef and Italian sausage, which I will incorporate into my personal recipe going forward. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I attended a cooking school class and this was 1 of the recipes prepared. The next night I tried it myself skeptical that it would have great flavor because of the cooking time. We were Pleasantly surprised!! It has great flavor without the waiting time of traditional chili. definitely 1 of my weeknight recipe go-to's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States