Chiliville Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was really good! A lot less labor-intensive than the chili I usually make, and packed with flavor. I really like the added punch from the sausage and the slight hint of sweetness from the brown sugar. I made this exactly as written and would definitely make it again. I used the 50% lower fat Chicken & Pork sausage. I like to let it simmer longer than 20 mins for the flavors to really blend. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Best Chile EVER! I can say this because I don't like Chile! The sausage was the key ingredient, in my opinion. My husband thought the addition of celery was genius (I just let him think it was my idea!). This is a monthly "must have" for us from now on during winter months. Thanks Johnsonville for great sausage and a great recipe! Love the idea someone gave of adding bow tie pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good chili recipe. Season to taste. The Italian sausage adds a nice flavor to the chili. My family loves it served in a homemade bread bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this for our small group and it was well liked by everyone. Several people went back for seconds! I will definitely make this again. I had shredded cheese and sour cream to add if desired and I served corn bread and a salad to go along with it. I liked it so much that I ate a bowl of it for breakfast the next morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a really good chili! I like the addition of sausage along with ground beef. I did sub the beef broth with beer to add more flavor, which I always do. My only complaint is that this was not spicy enough for me, but I like really spicy. This is a great chili for a crowd since it is mild enough for everyone and then guests can add more hot sauce to their own liking! I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by mommasangelbaby
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this in the slow cooker, cause I thought it would be good that way. I only made a few adjustments to the recipe. I put it in the slow cooker, of course, but I also used 1 can red kidney beans and 2 cans of northern white beans, for variety, instead of just 2 cans of red kidney. I also used plain diced tomatoes, because that is what I had on hand (and as I always say, I believe in using what's available). Since I didn't have the diced tomatoes with green peppers and onions, I added a green bell pepper, diced. I didn't have any tomato paste, so I left it out. I used some garlic powder because I didn't have enough cloves, and finally I used 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (this was an accident, but it turned out yummy, I love Worcestershire sauce, so I left it in my version of the recipe). I loved this recipe and will use it again for chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommasangelbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The best chili I have had! No more buying chili seasoning packets. I did adjust the sausage & beef ratio to meet our preference. I used 1/2 sausage to 3/4 beef. Other then that I served on cornbread waffles. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
my family loved this recipe. It was totally something I'd never thought about doing....was adding Italian sausage. And it soo works. Great for a Saturday night and not wanting to slave over the stove for very long. Will make again...TY so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My first ever Chili Cook Off. Didn't change a thing. And walked away with a 3rd place Ribbon. Johnsonville Hot Italian sausage was the star, every judge made a comment about how obvious it was that I used fresh top quality sausage was what caused this to stand out above all the others. Great Recipe and fun day thanks to Johnsonville.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States