Chiliquilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Quick, easy and good! Making this delicious AND nutritious is a no brainer: 1. Substitute ground turkey for ground beef 2. No margarine~use olive oil or canola 3. Eggbeaters for whole eggs 4. Low or no fat sour cream (and use less than 2 cups!!!) 5. Low or no fat cheese Using these substitutions should make this much less fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this for Husband's breakfast, and he said it was "delicious." I used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of ground beef, and I eyeballed the other ingredients. After browning the tortilla strips, I removed them from the skillet, and stirred them in immediately before serving - this avoided any sogginess. I also sprinkled some freshly snipped cilantro on top. Awesome recipe. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I wasn't too crazy about this one - the tortilla strips became very dry and didn't blend in well with the rest of the dish. And although it tasted allright hot off the stove, it seemed stale and unappetizing after only a short while and nobody felt like a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
My family loved this recipe. I did change the ingredients though. I used flour tortillas, turkey meat and salsa instead. It was really good. Will definetly make again(using the same substitutions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very good - we'll be making this one again! I used flour tortillas and seasoned the ground beef while cooking, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was quick, easy, appealing-looking, and tasty. My husband prefers spicier foods and topped his with hot sauce; those seeking to feed a spice-loving crowd could season the meat with a little taco seasoning and use hot enchilada sauce and pepper jack cheese, with pico or hot salsa to top. I liked it just fine as written, though; it was not bland. It seems like an affordable, use-what-you-have-onhand kind of recipe, and is going to become comfort food in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
4 out of my 5 kids loved this. It was easy and I found it by typing in the ingredients I had on hand. I wish I had drained the beef better as it was a tad on the greasy side. Scrumptious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a great recipe. I've used flour tortillas instead of corn both times I made it. The second time I made it I put chopped tomato on with the onion and black olive and served it with thinly sliced lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
I'm rating my own recipe, but it's a favorite of mine. It looks pretty in the skillet but turns a little messy on the plate. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Taste good if you do half side with green sauce and other side with Red sauce. Every person who tries Chiliquilla loves it !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was really great! My whole family loved it even my daughter who doesn't like eggs or enchilada sauce. I doubled the recipe for my family of five and it was just enough. It was a quick one-pan dinner that was just what a busy school night called for! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States