Chiliquilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Loved it! Only thing is next time I'm going to season the meat like I would for tacos. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Awsome! Everyone ate it, that is a first. I use 1 lb. of stew beef (instead of ground) Cook it on low for 6 hours with a pkg. of taco seasoning mix and 3/4 cup water. Shread beef and stir into liquid in crock. Let cook for another 30 or so minutes. Yummy flavored meat to add to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
MMmmm . Had this last night for dinner. Really tasty. I used ground turkey, didn't use the margarine and also left out the olives. My proportions of things were a little differnent as well, but not by much. I added some taco seasoning to the meat as other had recommended. I really enjoyed this. I serve this with some spicy black beans and really enjoyed it. I'll defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Excellent, used a 1 1/2lb ground beef and 3 eggs were plenty. Also used regular onion and no olives. Defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
When a recipe doesn't call for any seasonings, it's a dead giveaway that it's going to bland. I know many people like to cook a recipe as written in order to rate it fairly, however, if I see potential in a dish I'm not going to bore my family to tears just to make a point. Well, this was one of those kinds of dishes to me. I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, cayenne, cumin and chili powder. Also added two cans of green chiles, pinto beans and minced onion. Instead of scrambling, I poached my eggs and then nestled them on top of the meat mixture. Kind of like the Charlie Brown Christmas tree, this recipe just needed a little tender loving care. The end result was so yum and I thank you for a great start to a dish we all enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We thought this recipe was really good. It was fairly simple to make. I did not use butter, instead I just used several sprays of Pam when cooking the tortillas. The only other change I made was to add some taco seasoning to the beef. I doubled the recipe to use up a full pound of ground beef. I will be adding this to my "will make again" list. To reduce fat, I may try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have wanted to make this recipe for a long time and I think it's because the picture makes it look so appetizing. Well, the picture definitely looks better than this tastes. It's very bland and I even used hot enchilada sauce. I only used 4 tortillas because 8 sounded like an awful lot for a half pound of meat. My daughter had leftover pizza after one bite - I did eat mine and I'll probably eat the leftovers but I won't make it again. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My family loved it, I added taco seasoning to the meat while it browned and also added some chopped green chilis. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This turned out way better than I expected. I made it simply to use up a bunch of leftover ingredients, so I used ground turkey (which I seasoned with adobo and garlic) and green enchilada sauce. Up until the first bite I still was questioning the recipe, but it was really good. Husband ate it but didn't say "wow", four year old didn't finish her serving. I probably won't make it on purpose again, but will keep it in mind when I need a clean out the fridge recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Average. Smelled better than it tasted. It was fine, but I wouldn't make it again. I followed the instruction exactly except that I left out the olives because my husband doesn't like them. I'd suggest adding some more spice with a hotter enchilda sauce and some pepper jack cheese like someone else suggested. I made it milder (per the recipe) in hopes that my 4 and 6 year olds might like it, but they wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States