Chiliquilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Awsome! Everyone ate it, that is a first. I use 1 lb. of stew beef (instead of ground) Cook it on low for 6 hours with a pkg. of taco seasoning mix and 3/4 cup water. Shread beef and stir into liquid in crock. Let cook for another 30 or so minutes. Yummy flavored meat to add to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
MMmmm . Had this last night for dinner. Really tasty. I used ground turkey, didn't use the margarine and also left out the olives. My proportions of things were a little differnent as well, but not by much. I added some taco seasoning to the meat as other had recommended. I really enjoyed this. I serve this with some spicy black beans and really enjoyed it. I'll defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Excellent, used a 1 1/2lb ground beef and 3 eggs were plenty. Also used regular onion and no olives. Defiantly a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
When a recipe doesn't call for any seasonings, it's a dead giveaway that it's going to bland. I know many people like to cook a recipe as written in order to rate it fairly, however, if I see potential in a dish I'm not going to bore my family to tears just to make a point. Well, this was one of those kinds of dishes to me. I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, cayenne, cumin and chili powder. Also added two cans of green chiles, pinto beans and minced onion. Instead of scrambling, I poached my eggs and then nestled them on top of the meat mixture. Kind of like the Charlie Brown Christmas tree, this recipe just needed a little tender loving care. The end result was so yum and I thank you for a great start to a dish we all enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
We thought this recipe was really good. It was fairly simple to make. I did not use butter, instead I just used several sprays of Pam when cooking the tortillas. The only other change I made was to add some taco seasoning to the beef. I doubled the recipe to use up a full pound of ground beef. I will be adding this to my "will make again" list. To reduce fat, I may try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I have wanted to make this recipe for a long time and I think it's because the picture makes it look so appetizing. Well, the picture definitely looks better than this tastes. It's very bland and I even used hot enchilada sauce. I only used 4 tortillas because 8 sounded like an awful lot for a half pound of meat. My daughter had leftover pizza after one bite - I did eat mine and I'll probably eat the leftovers but I won't make it again. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My family loved it, I added taco seasoning to the meat while it browned and also added some chopped green chilis. Will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This turned out way better than I expected. I made it simply to use up a bunch of leftover ingredients, so I used ground turkey (which I seasoned with adobo and garlic) and green enchilada sauce. Up until the first bite I still was questioning the recipe, but it was really good. Husband ate it but didn't say "wow", four year old didn't finish her serving. I probably won't make it on purpose again, but will keep it in mind when I need a clean out the fridge recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Average. Smelled better than it tasted. It was fine, but I wouldn't make it again. I followed the instruction exactly except that I left out the olives because my husband doesn't like them. I'd suggest adding some more spice with a hotter enchilda sauce and some pepper jack cheese like someone else suggested. I made it milder (per the recipe) in hopes that my 4 and 6 year olds might like it, but they wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States