Chili With Pulled Beef & Pork for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by vicki515
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! The first time I made it just as it's written to see what we thought. We absolutely loved it. I do love the chocolate in it. I almost didn't put it in, but was really happy that I did. It just magically woke all the other flavors, and put it over the top delicious. I made it tonight, and added diced tomatoes because it's what I had here, and also some corn for color and added texture. I had some cooked leftover taco meat (sausage) that I added as well. I'm telling you, you can't hurt this recipe. Just put in what you like and omit what you don't. Just wonderful! If you don't like fussing in the kitchen, it may seem time consuming. I look for recipes like this though because I love to play in the kitchen. I'm so glad that I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is the 5th year I have made this chili for my halloween party. Every year I get asked if I'm making it again. Always a big hit & well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This recipe was a big hit with my Super Bowl crowd. The only problems I had was that the meat was not soft enough from the recommended oven cooking time. After 90 minutes it was still not fork tender so I lowered the temperature to 325 for an additional hour and it worked magnificently. The seasonings were perfect. This recipe made a huge amount of chili and my guests were all able to take home leftovers. By the way I made this chili the day before to let the flavors develop and then reheated it in my slow cooker for game day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
As a Huge chili lover, I have to try this soon. I will however smoke my chuck roasts and ribs and try it that way. I have always used ground beef and sausage in my chili, but this sounds better. Will let everyone know how it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I use 2 pork shoulders in place of the ribs, increase the seasonings and time in the oven. The result is a huge amount of tender yummy chili. Love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I've made this 3-times and get raves about it. My wife doesn't like the flavor of chocolate in this. One time I made it without chocolate and it still got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe, will never used ground beef again!! I did change the pork chops for bacon, and added some green pepers and corn. Was yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe for years and was surprised to find it here. However, this recipe has some errors from the original published recipe from 2004. The chuck roasts should be 2, 4 lb beef chuck roasts and 2.5 pts of country style pork ribs....for a total of 10.5 pts of meat. I generally slow-roast the meat at 300 for 6 hours but cooking at a high temperature also works well if you are in a hurry. Great for a cold winter day when you want to add a little extra warmth to you house while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious. Time consuming, but makes a lot. Needs extra spices to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made this for New Years eve and everyone really liked it, but I did add cayenne to it until it had some real bite. It is more work than the usual recipe, but with extra heat it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States