Chili Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I joined All Recipes just so I could rate this recipe. This is an excellant recipe. I made it for a potluck at work. It got rave reviews. I will most definitely make it for my family. I always like to try it on strangers first. I did make one change to it. I was not able to find the 7 oz. cans of green salsa. I bought 2-16 oz. jars of green salsa and added both jars. It turned out great. I also agree with the other reviews, I might add some cloves of garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a recipe that both my daughter AND my husband loved (this is unheard of - if one likes something, the other doesn't). My husband said it was better than the chile verde he gets in the Mexican restaurant downtown! He did suggest, however, that next time I should add some cilantro and some jalepenos - he likes his food extrs spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I really liked this sauce. We served it with warm flour tortillas and actually, my husband has scooped it over most everything since. It's spicy but not to the point of breathing fire or sweating! I used pork picnic roasts and while it needed help "falling apart" it was sooo good. I removed the roast before adding the verde salsa and pulled it apart with two forks then added it back in and let it swim in the sauce like that for another hour. I'll need to make this over the winter! A keeper for sure! As for ease, nothing to it! So easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This is one of my husbands very favorite things that I make, he requests it all the time. It's easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe but was short on time (well, I didn't have 8-10 hours) so I prepared the meat as directed but roasted it in the oven (in a covered dish. It took about 2 1/2 hours and was so tender and so delicious! A wonderful combination of flavors. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This was really, really good. My husband loved it. The slow cooker makes it easy, and it's such a versatile dish. You can eat it over chimis as Lori suggests or just with rice and beans. Yum! I'm a hopeless tinkerer, so I added 2 garlic cloves and some chili powder. Terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was very good, but next time I will take the time to cube the pork roast, it fell apart into strings. No one seemed to care, but I think it would look more appealing with chunks than strings. I still gave it 5 stars because it was remarkable, and I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Let me just say, I am in LOVE with this recipe! I don't know if it's because it's so different from what I usually cook, or just that it is sooooo good. The only alteration I make is to season the roast with salt & pepper and brown it up really good before putting it it the crockpot. I then sautee the onion in the pork fat before adding them to the crockpot as well....we just don't care for raw onion. We like to serve it over plain white rice, with some warm flour tortillas on the side. D-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Great recipe, everyone love it. I used a beef rump roast instead of pork, & added 1/4 t cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Loved this... I had about 2 1/2 lbs of cooked pork roast so I cut it up and simmered in the slow cooker on high for about three hours in the chicken broth. I also added 1 chopped jalapeno pepper and some cumin to the recipe... I jar of green salsa which I added and then simmered another 30 min. I had to thicken with corn starch and water. We skipped the optional beans and ate it in burritos with Mexican rice and buttered corn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States