Chili Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I chopped the pork into cubes. I used a whole pound of great northern beans. I also used fresh garlic. This was easy enough to do but it was too bland for us. It came out much soupier than I thought it would even with all the extra beans. I would suggest not to use the chicken broth, but maybe a boullion cube. Then maybe the flavor will be more intense. Not sure why the description says it is a brown sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
delicious. we ate it as soup over the weekend and I'm going to use it to top cheese enchiladas this week. I would definitely make this again, possibly on the stove next time as my crock pot was a bit too small to handle it all. thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Great recipe, everyone love it. I used a beef rump roast instead of pork, & added 1/4 t cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I wanted this to be a 5-star recipe, but for us it just wasn't. We did not care for the texture of the onions OR the pork roast. After 10 hours, the onions were still sort of crisp--bleh. I'd precook those if I had it to do over. And I'd also cube the pork roast, as someone else suggested, if I had it to do over. The long strings were unappetizing looking in the green sauce. The submitter describes this as a "brown sauce" but it isn't--I assure you it's green. Tastes ok, may even taste good with some hot sauce and tortilla chips, but "pretty" it ain't. Thanks for the recipe! EDIT: 4/30/10: In going back over this recipe to post the picture today I have deducted another star. We wound up throwing this out :( In addition to the problems I listed above, we also didn't care for the great Northern beans, and I'd suggest subbing a white bean you already know you love if you make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Let me just say, I am in LOVE with this recipe! I don't know if it's because it's so different from what I usually cook, or just that it is sooooo good. The only alteration I make is to season the roast with salt & pepper and brown it up really good before putting it it the crockpot. I then sautee the onion in the pork fat before adding them to the crockpot as well....we just don't care for raw onion. We like to serve it over plain white rice, with some warm flour tortillas on the side. D-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Loved this... I had about 2 1/2 lbs of cooked pork roast so I cut it up and simmered in the slow cooker on high for about three hours in the chicken broth. I also added 1 chopped jalapeno pepper and some cumin to the recipe... I jar of green salsa which I added and then simmered another 30 min. I had to thicken with corn starch and water. We skipped the optional beans and ate it in burritos with Mexican rice and buttered corn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
used Enchilada sauce (big can)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Nice, simple recipe. If you like spicier, you will need to add jalapenos or something else with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was very good, but next time I will take the time to cube the pork roast, it fell apart into strings. No one seemed to care, but I think it would look more appealing with chunks than strings. I still gave it 5 stars because it was remarkable, and I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe but was short on time (well, I didn't have 8-10 hours) so I prepared the meat as directed but roasted it in the oven (in a covered dish. It took about 2 1/2 hours and was so tender and so delicious! A wonderful combination of flavors. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States