Chili Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this with both chicken breasts and with pork. Either way, it is delicious. I did add a can (sometimes 2) of tomatoes with green chilies (choosing the heat of these helps control the heat of the chili). I also thicken it with a mixture of flour and chicken broth when I add the other ingredients. Rave reviews from all who have tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura j turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was so good. By far, better than any chili verde I've had in a Mexican restaurant, and I've been to Mexico a few times. This was so juicy and tender and full of flavor. I didn't have 8 hours to cook it so I browned both sides in a skillet then put it in the slow cooker on high for 4 hours, then turned it to low after I shreeded the beef (I used beef roast instead of prok) and added the verde and continued to cook it for another hour or so. I added 6 cloves of garlic instead of the garlic pepper and I used 16 oz. of medium salsa verde. My guest asked if they could take some of the leftovers home with them!! It was a little too spicy for my kids to eat but every single adult, even the most picky eaters, loved it. I will make this recipe again and again. Absolute perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Madisonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
BLAND! After cooking 10 hours, I discover it was too bland to eat. Under stress, I had to read all the reviews to see what others did to rev this recipe up. My mistake for not doing this before I cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this for Easter dinner for my aunt and uncle who are on low sodium diets and could not eat a traditional ham dinner. I did not have time to cook it for 8 hours in the crock pot, so I put it in a large pot and cooked it in my oven at 350 for 4 hours. I could not find canned green salsa at my local store, so I used 2 jars of salsa verde and a large can of green enchilada sauce (I left out the beans). My uncle loves green chili, so I was a bit nervous to have him try it. He really liked it! It was a hit with the whole family - plus it was really easy to make. I think this will become an Easter tradition with my family. My mom and uncle have already requested I make it again when my other uncle comes out later this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is such a wonderful and easy recipe. I made a few minor changes, my children and husband raved about it. My 9 year old is begging me to make it again and again. The only changes I made were; I cut the pork roast into bite size cubes. I did not add the beans, but instead cut into bite size pieces 3 good size peeled potatoes. I put everything in the crock pot with the exception of the potatoes. I placed the potatoes in about 1.5 hours before we were ready to eat. So easy and so delicious. I highly recommend trying! We ate it as a soup/stew and dipped our tortilla's in it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is delicious and easy! My favorite Mexican restaurant serves pork, potato, and cheese burritos. I've been looking for a way to make them at home. I followed this recipe, but added diced potatoes to the crock pot for the last few hours of cooking. I forgot to add the green salsa, but maybe it was a good thing. It would have made my burritos too soupy. I rolled the pork, potatoes, and sauce into a tortilla and added cheese. They were delicious and it was even better the next day for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
leftovers wonderful served over eggs with warm tortillas on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is excellent Chili Verde!! I put it in my crock pot the night before, then finished it in the morning, it was PERFECT for my OAMC (once a month freezer cooking) Day!! perfectly cooked. I used a 7lb bone in picnic roast and almost doubled the recipe, but I'm not a measurer, more a tinkerer....I did follow the recipe with the same ingredients, except for I omitted the garlic pepper and used fresh crushed garlic and pepper. Next time, I would use the green chili enchilada sauce as well as one jar of salsa. The flavor is a little bland, and I also added salt, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Another good recipe to keep close at hand! Followed the recipe pretty close. Didn't have the small cans of green salsa so I used a large can of green enchilada sauce, little less pork (cubed), and added some fresh crushed garlic along with the garlic powder and pepper. I was using this a wet sauce for burritos and it was very runny so I thickened it up a bit with some cornstarch. Not as thick as a real sauce but thicker than the soup. Worked just fine on the burritos. This also went great with Linnie's Spanish Rice from AR. Hint don't make the rice with HOT salsa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States