Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This makes a fabulous chili. For me, I used half of it (about 3 tablespoons) with a pound and a quarter of ground beef, 1 1/2 cups water, and one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. I omitted the red pepper flakes because I used a medium hot chili powder, and instead of the salt, I used 2 cubes of beef bullion. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Good. Love the ability to avoid prepackaged foods but still have convenience. Took other reviewer suggestions to hold on the flour and go easy on the salt in the mix, but added them to taste as the chili cooked. Used half the mix in my first batch (1lb ground beef, 4 cans drained beans, 4 fresh tomatoes and 1/2 yellow onion chopped in the blender) and it was on the sweet side, which was good. Made 2nd batch the same way but was in the mood for a more savory taste and added 1t cocoa powder to counteract the sweet. This was also good. Will continue to use this recipe. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best chili seasoning ever! I only add 2 TBS of the flour and it turns out wonderfully. My family likes the spice so we add extra crushed red pepper. :) I purposely don't buy the packet junk anymore & make my own! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Hunt Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Instead of 1/4 cup of flour I used 3 tbsp Cornstarch mixed with water, otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Loved the recipe. This amount of seasoning is for over 3lbs of meat. Just divide seasoning if you're using 1lb of meat. Added I can of black beans, a couple of bay leaves & one 15 oz can of tomato sauce to 1 lb of browned turkey meat with seasoning & let it cook in the slow cooker all day. Came out great! Just add whatever type of meat & beans are you're preference. You can also use crushed or whole tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. It's all about whatever your preference is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Will never buy store bought seasoning again! I left out the flour and added a touch of cinnamon and a bit more salt - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Real good, especially if you're a chilli aficionado who has a large range of different chilli powders and want to put them to use in another way - Chipotle powder goes really well and adds a smokey element, ghost pepper adds atomic heat and nice flavour, fatalii adds an exotic taste and a similar amount of heat - Generally the milder powders need to be doubled if you have chilli tolerance, say if you use jalapeno/chipotle/serrano while the hotter powders like ghost peppers or even moruga scorpions should be halved since they have so much concentrated heat and may take over the flavour of everything else. Remember, less is always better than more when testing the heat/flavour balance as you can always go up and not down. Slight modifications like adding paprika and rosemary are always welcome, personally I ALWAYS omit the flour and unless using chipotle powder usually omit the sugar as it's so smokey it needs the sugar. And finally you can always upscale this by 3 times or so as it always seems to run out due to being so addictive and so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I use this when making Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili. It is a great combination. In the Chili recipe, I substitute 1lb ground turkey and 1lb Italian Turkey Sausage for the 2lbs ground beef, for a lower calorie option. VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just cut back on the hot stuff otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I omit the flour (and the crushed red pepper if I do not want it spicy) and use 2-3 Tbsp for a batch of chili or taco meat mix. To thicken chili a little I use refried beans - which I had read about on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States