Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe makes it so easy to make your own chili seasoning and not rely on store bought. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Best seasoning mix for chili out there. Better than anything pre-packaged. I agree, you might want to take it easy with the flour because it can over power the flavor of the mix. I used 1/8 cup instead on 1/4 and it turned out fine. Other that that, this recipe is perfect as is. We make chili a lot here, so I'll be making several batches of this and packaging it up into little baggies. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Had no cumin last night so it lacked depth but was super tasty - I made it into a paste before adding it to the meat with the juice of from a tin of tomatoes - I like the idea of making this x 3 and storing it in a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Amazing! This is a great way to control your salt and make a wonderful chili. Everyone asks me about the seasoning...I never tell! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Excellent stuff!! Didn't have dried garlic so I just added fresh to the chili I was making from this website call Debdoozie's blue ribbon chili by Deb. Excellent seasoning, won't ever buy from store again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Thank you. This is an easy to make and flavorful mix. I'll never pay $2+ again for a few teaspoons of seasonings. I cook and bake gluten free so I experiment a lot. Because of that, I bought a one pound bucket of maltodextrin (it's inexpensive, very light and fluffy and as such, comes in a container bigger than a one gallon paint can). I'ts just highly refined tapioca starch that completely dissolves in water without adding any taste or texture. I substituted that for the flour. I suppose you could also use tapioca starch as a medium or actually use nothing. It's really not necessary at all. It's a seasoning mix. I added some other ideas to my blend from reviewers because his is one of those very "customizable" recipes. Thanks again for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
After reading the reviews, I made a few adjustments (doesn't everyone?). I cut the flour back to 2 tbsp, although I don't think the full 1/4 of a cup would have made a big difference. I also didn't have dried minced garlic. I substituted 1 tsp garlic powder and 4 garlic cloves, minced. I was also a little confused as to if this made enough to equal multiple packets or just one, but when I mixed it all up it looked about the same as 1 packet that you would buy in the store. I put it all in my normal recipe instead or the store bought packet. It wasn't EXACTLY the same, just a little different. It was actually slightly better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Used this recipe and I thought my chili came out wonderful so this will be my new "go to". Recipe is perfect quantity to make....used 4 tablespoonfuls in my chili and the rest was enough to fill a standard spice jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I love this seasoning combo. You can adjust for your preference whether it's spicy or not. It makes delicious chili! I sauté onions with the ground beef, add a few cans of beans and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandgeek

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Loved this seasoning mix. I omitted the flour, because I like a brothier chili. This is the perfect amount of seasoning for a batch of chili using 1 lb of ground beef, 2 15 oz cans of diced tomatoes, 2 cans of chili beans and another can of kidney or butter beans. It definitely has a kick to it, so some may want to cut back on the red pepper. Or add cayenne if you want even more heat! It may be a little on the salty side, so you could probably omit or reduce the added salt and just season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States