Chili Seasoning Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good. Used this for the Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili recipe. Substituted red pepper - like the kind they set out at pizza joints - for the cayenne, and ignored the seasoned pepper, figured that substitution would make it spicy enough. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Auburn University, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I LOVE THIS, I USE IT ALL THE TIME, AND IT SAVES ME SO MUCH TIME, IT IS JUST ENOUGH FOR ONE TIME USE. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This worked perfectly for me. I'm in a location where I can't find pre-packaged Chili Seasoning Mixes and this did the trick! I found the amounts to be a good start and allowed me to feel more confident in altering the flavors of the chili I was making. I made extra, placing in little jars and gave it to the people who attended the gathering, with a list of suggested uses. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So excellent! I just up the thyme and oregano to a full teaspoon. Can't use anything else now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alysia313

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great seasoning mix, I didn't follow the exact measurments but used all the seasonings and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this to go into the "bangin steak rub" from this site, which was an awesome rub for our steaks. I am going to try this in chili soon. How can it be chili seasoning mix without any chili powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Just fixed this with some combo lean ground turkey/ground beef for a healthier chili. I'm on a diet program right now with very specific requirements and as much as I want to lose the weight, I hate giving up foods that I love and eating food that "feels like" diet food. This was perfect for the chili that made, with that little bit of heat to give it a good kick. Hubby even loved it, lean ground turkey and all. I only used about a tablespoon of the mix for 7 oz. of meat mixed with tomatoes, onions, etc. Next time I may add some cumin to the mix and cut back on the season salt. One thing I did was after everything had been prepared, I sprinkled a little powdered stevia on top and folded it in. It was a nice touch which makes me think I'll do it again. Either way, thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylmoser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This one is really good but I add Cumin and exchange GROUND cayenne pepper with just regular crushed red pepper flakes, but still a great start for the flavor direction I was trying to achieve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States