Chili Seasoning Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I LOVE THIS, I USE IT ALL THE TIME, AND IT SAVES ME SO MUCH TIME, IT IS JUST ENOUGH FOR ONE TIME USE. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
As a chili seasoning this does not work for me because it is missing the Cumin, a necessary ingredient for chili and southwestern dishes. and the use of seasoned salt and pepper is very strange indeed. there are so many different varieties of seasoned salt and pepper. however, as an everyday seasoning, using plain salt and pepper, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This mix is OK if you are in a pinch and need chili seasoning mix quickly, but I prefer to just buy it and not have to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This worked perfectly for me. I'm in a location where I can't find pre-packaged Chili Seasoning Mixes and this did the trick! I found the amounts to be a good start and allowed me to feel more confident in altering the flavors of the chili I was making. I made extra, placing in little jars and gave it to the people who attended the gathering, with a list of suggested uses. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Great as a place to start, but WAY too salty for our tastes. About half the amount called for is better for us. I left out the thyme and oregano (those don't go in chili in this house), and added 1Tbsp cocoa powder (that ALWAYS goes in chili in this house). Once we "fixed" it it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: German Valley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great seasoning mix, I didn't follow the exact measurments but used all the seasonings and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this to go into the "bangin steak rub" from this site, which was an awesome rub for our steaks. I am going to try this in chili soon. How can it be chili seasoning mix without any chili powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Just fixed this with some combo lean ground turkey/ground beef for a healthier chili. I'm on a diet program right now with very specific requirements and as much as I want to lose the weight, I hate giving up foods that I love and eating food that "feels like" diet food. This was perfect for the chili that made, with that little bit of heat to give it a good kick. Hubby even loved it, lean ground turkey and all. I only used about a tablespoon of the mix for 7 oz. of meat mixed with tomatoes, onions, etc. Next time I may add some cumin to the mix and cut back on the season salt. One thing I did was after everything had been prepared, I sprinkled a little powdered stevia on top and folded it in. It was a nice touch which makes me think I'll do it again. Either way, thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylmoser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States