Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
i had no allspice but happened to have a jar of jamaican JERK seasoning,,,so i used 3/4 tsp of that instead. it tasted better than any chili sauce i could purchase. i served it over cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Really came in handy in a pinch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Thank you I will never buy chili sauce again. Needed it in my chili and did not want to hit the store. Tasted great! And no high fructose corn syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is really close to store bought chili sauce. I added some of this to my homemade barbecue sauce and it worked great. I don't think I will ever buy store bought chili sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Good recipe! I never think to buy chili sauce so I never have it on hand. I always have these four ingredients on hand, though, and just make it up as I need it. Much less expensive this way, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Easy to do and pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Oh my... this makes unbelievably good sloppy joes! Sassy! I subbed chili powder for the allspice. Hubby and school-aged kids all loved it. (Mom, too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I needed chili sauce in a recipe for "simply the easiest beef brisket" from this website and didn't have any. This worked very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I'm not familiar with chili sauce, but the Baha Mama Chops recipe called for it, so I tried this recipe. It worked really well, and I'll make it again. I added some rice wine vinegar, and really liked the extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I found this WAY TOO SWEET. I will definitely cut the amount of sugar the next time. Also after tasting it, I thought it was missing something, and I read the ingredients off of the empty bottle of store bought chili sauce that I had. I then added 1/4tsp. of onion powder, 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp. of chili powder. It really improved it. (Besides, I don't know why you would name a recipe 'chili sauce' when there's no chili in it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States