Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a great substitute for the store bought version. I took the suggestion of proudwifeandmommy by adding the spices she suggested and cut back on the brown sugar. I also added the following spices: 1/4 tsp cloves 1/8 tsp cinnamon 1/8 tsp ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I don't think I've ever purchased commercial chili sauce so I don't know if this was right or not. I needed some for Jeff's Sloppy Joes (AR Recipe) so I threw this together. I used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce which isn't quite one cup so I scaled back the other ingredients. It worked for my needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great substitute for Heinz Chili Sauce at a mere fraction of the price! I added just a bit more vinegar and a shake of chili powder. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I prefer this to store bought chili sauce since it is an ingredient I don’t use often. I can reduce the sugar by substituting Splenda brown sugar for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
so simple thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This can be a good recipe with a LOT of additions. It was far too sweet even though I only added 1 tbs of brown sugar. I also ended up adding garlic powder, onion powder, chili powder, red pepper flakes, salt, coarse black pepper, soy sauce and a dash of hot pepper sauce. NOW it tastes like what I think chili sauce should taste like. With these additions I will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I don't really know what the jarred kind of chili sauce tastes like, but this worked great for my purposes today. I needed chili sauce in a recipe for maple meatballs and they turned out really well with this sauce in them. I'm looking forward to trying the rest of it in another recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This worked perfectly for the 'Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans' recipe from here. I did scale the recipe back jsut to make as much as I needed. I would never hesitate to use this recipe in place of store bought bottled chili sauce, as it was pretty much identical! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
WOW! used chili powder in place of allspice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States