Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
WOW! used chili powder in place of allspice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Just what I was looking for. I used tomato paste + water as the base. Also I replaced the allspice with paprika (I ran out of chili powder) and added some tabasco sauce. Furthermore, I boiled it in a saucepan for a few minutes to meld the flavors together. I know it seems like I am rating an entirely different recipe, but this got me going in the right direction, and for that I tip my hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was great, I needed chili sauce for a recipe and instead of running to the store I was recommended this!! The only thing I did different was added about 1 teaspoon of salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I couldn't find any allspice so I used about 1/2 teaspoon of mixed chili powder and crushed Italian seasonings. That worked VERY well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this when I discovered too late that I did not have any from the store. It is better than the bottled kind and I will make my own from now on. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was really good. I used it on the lentils (as recommended) when I made Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils from this site. I don't use onions or onion powder (because we have dogs, and they usually get some of what I cook, too) and I didn't add any garlic (because I had already added that to the water in which I cooked my lentils). I also substituted a bit of Cumin and a few shakes of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle blend for the allspice (I had it on hand, but ti rarely does anything for me), and it was great. I was skeptical (to say the least) about how all of the flavors that comprised this dinner would blend, but there wasn't a scrap left at the end of the meal. (I'm glad I threw in some potatoes with the lentils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Used this recipe to substitute the jar of chili sauce in "Cocktail Meatballs." Next time, I think I will add 1/4 tsp of onion powder, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of chili powder as proudwifeandmommy suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Tasted just like BBQ sauce. I made it exactly as written, and it was just way too sweet, even for BBQ! After that went over like a led balloon, I added onion powder, garlic powder, salt, soy sauce, red pepper flakes, Asian mustard and hot sauce. I don't know what it turned into but it was much better than originally written. I was putting it over meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used splenda brown sugar blend... SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Always needed to run to store to get chili sauce for a recipe, and this is much cheaper and tastes great! I let it sit in fridge so flavors could blend....very good on my meatloaf! I did use just a tablespoon and a half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States