Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I love how I didn't have to go to the store to buy a bottle of chili sauce for another recipe. I mixed this up following others' suggestions (decreasing brown sugar to 2 T. and adding 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. onion powder, and 1/2 tsp. chili powder) and had my homemade chili sauce in mere minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I use recipe this for my homemade party meatballs. This recipe is quick and easy and is so much better than having the bottled stuff on hand that just goes bad b/c we don't use it enough! I combine this with the Cranberry Sauce II (sal) and Cocktail Meatballs (Lara) recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I only had about half the commercial chili sauce that I needed and couldn't go to the store. The flavour of this sauce is pretty close, but it certainly isn't as thick as the commercial sauce. Perhaps reducing it on the stove or using crushed tomatoes might fix this. That being said, this recipe saved my meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Good, but next time I'll cut the sugar by half. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
A little too sweet for my taste, but it works! It does taste like sweet chilli sauce bought from a store! Will definitely be making this again with that slight change! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made this sauce to use in the "Easy Sloppy Joes" recipe. I didn't have the jar of chili sauce on hand. My husband like this version much better. It's super easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
good simple sauce. like another review i added onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good. Inexpensive and better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
In a flash, this recipe will do. It's not thick, like jar stuff but, it so helps when your in a pinch. And that's where I was at. On a lighter note, it is a bit sweet. And I've made this a couple of times. This last time I goofed and used a can of Hot Mexican Tomato Sauce by mistake and while the sweet was there, so was the slight burn..my bad ;-) But again, in a pinch. This works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Used Chili Powder instead of allspice, added till it tasted right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States