Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin With Apricot Ginger Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was so visually pretty coming off the grill I could only hope it would taste good too. Well this deserves a definite ride on the "hot tamale train" for sure. OMG the perfect mix of spicy and sweet. I did add just a small amt. of chipotle chili powder also and I thought the heat level was spot on. The leftover glaze was so good for dipping. I love the lime in this and next time just might put some more in but I had a small lime. There were lots of smiles all around while eating this. Served it with Parmesan crusted asparagus from AR and Shitake Mushroom Brown Rice from Food Network. It was good too. A 5-star recipe and a 5-star meal. Thanks Pork Board!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I pan seared the pork first and then baked in the oven at 425F. I poured the glaze over the meat before popping it in and turned out great!!! Note: as other reviewers have said, there is way too much sauce left over. Half the recipe and you will be fine (or use leftover sauce for dipping wings the next day;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annawach99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Excellent! The hot and sweet combination is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Note to cookinkiwi - review the recipe again and first see step 2. Divide the glaze so that people can use it at table. Then go to step 4. With 4 minutes to go, brush the meat with the remaining glaze. Spray out any flames, though that shouldn't be a problem with tenderloin since it is lean. The general rule with any sweet sauce (barbecue sauce and others) is to use it briefly near the end of grilling. That's long enough to warm it and bond it to the surface of the meat, making an attractive and tasty coating. Sugar is a molecule containing carbon. Leave it over a grill too long and it burns and turns to black charcoal. Most folks don't like the taste of cinders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Well, I didn't even have all of the ingredients, but I can tell that this is a 5 star. I was missing Apricot preserves so I subbed Honey and it was awesome. I amped up the lime juice a little since I figured I needed more fruit/acid flavor. The other thing I changed was using real garlic rather than powdered garlic in the glaze. That may have saved the flavor, but it was really distinctive and will probably still use real garlic in the glaze next time. Next store run will definitely include apricot preserves. Hopefully tenderloin will be on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I whipped this together for a large family get together. Easy recipe to follow with no special ingredients to run to the store for. The results are outstanding. Everyone at our Sunday dinner party loved it...4 lbs worth of tenderloin was almost polished off. Very, very flavorful rub with an equally delicious glaze. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
OMG this was an awesome recipe. I baked it instead of grilling due to weather. It was totally awesome. I put rub on and placed in a oven preheated to 300 degrees for 2 1/2 hours. However during the last 20 minutes of cooking I basted it in the glaze and put back in for 10 m. took out and turn the pork over and basted it. cooked 5 min or so and YUMMY was the result. Thanks for this one. My family of very picky eaters said that this one is a KEEPER!! My husband wants me to cook it for his mother. Now that is impressive. lol... Update: I made this for my In-laws and family and they raved about this one. The meat just melts in your mouth. Thank you again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great recipe - instead of starting out on the grill, i smoked the pork loin on Pecan at 235F for 1 hr, then moved over to the grill. I got a nice grilled glaze after about 8 mins on each side, after which i let them rest, wrapped in foil for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
OMG! This was gourmet great! The sauce is fantastic and the pork was tender. I don't have a grill so I cooked it in the oven, putting the sauce on 20-30 minutes before done. I also found & made "mom's coleslaw". Really enjoyed this and great for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
What a wonderful tasting pork tenderloin. I prepared this the day before serving & is a 5 Star without a doubt. I followed it exact putting the glaze on towards the end & using the rest for dipping. My huband, grandchildren~~the whole family enjoyed this so very much. I served it with corn on the cob & whole wheat rice pilaf. Thank you again All Recipe . com!!!!!! Happy Cooking Everyone.... Enjoy the rest of the summer!!!! Nana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States