Chili-Roasted Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These were very good. Was looking for a new recipe for Kale and found this. They are definitely spicy and the Kale cooks down quite a bit. Seems critically important to toss and coat the kale leaves evenly with the oil and spices. Note that ours were a bit salty as I overdid the salt. Probably something you want to experiment with in terms of exact seasoning amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Wow! This was so so good! I had no idea what to do with the kale in my green grocer box last week. I didn't want to make a soup or stew, which seem to be the most common recipes using kale. I was careful to very lightly but evenly coat the pieces in olive oil. It was so good, I'd buy kale at the store just to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I was very excited to try this recipe with some leftover kale. I made the mistake of over salting...I didn't have kosher salt and just used sea salt and should have decreased the amount. Like another reviewer, I used about 1 tsp of chili powder and the flavour was great. Next time I will be more watchful during the last few minutes of cooking time since I came close to burning the whole batch--I'm looking forward to correcting my mistakes and trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Fantastic and I am new to kale. I was out of chili so I used curry powder and a little garlic salt. Also added a little parmesan cheese. I think you could add any spice. Cumin sounds good. A friend said she uses ground flax seed or sunflower seeds. It was pretty much gone before it reached the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious, except that i decreased the chili to one teaspoon. The kale came out crispy and reminiscent of roasted nori. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I really like these and, like a previous reviewer, think they are a bit like toasted nori. And they're low carb which is a definite plus! Since kale is so sturdy I simply used my hands to get the pieces well coated with the oil. Drizzle and then rub 'em down. I also think only 1 tsp of chili powder is sufficient, and watch the salt; it's easy to overdo it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is now the favorite vegetable at my house. It is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was interesting to try. My chili flavor did not come through at all. And some pieces came out too salty. But it was interesting to try the kale all crispy. It kind of just dissovles in your mouth. It was not good the next day. It was way too tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent! We loved this. I'll make again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
OH MY! This was so good and was getting skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but it was so good that my husband and i stood at the stove and ate it before we even got a chance to put it on a serving platter! I did put a bit too much salt but otherwise it was great!! This was also our first time ever eating kale....yum! My toddler tried it after i told him it was leaves. he ate it. i also didn't expect it to be so crispy, nice surprise....it was similiar to a potato chip crisp. great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Iantosca Reid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States