Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I entered a chili cook-off and WON 1st place! I halved the chili powder (actually I used a generous 1/4 cup), and used about 18oz of Hunt's Hickory Brown Sugar BBQ sauce. As for the sausages, I used hot (spicy sausages) and removed the casing before cooking the ground sausage meat. I cooked it for a total of 4 hours and have had several people ask for the recipe within hours of winning. It was just the right spiciness, just the right sweetness (not too sweet) and turned out fabulous! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This chili took second place at a recent chili cook-off that had fairly stiff competition (7 other decent entries). Of course, what makes this particular recipe a “winner” is its novelty. Who doesn’t enjoy chocolate? So here are my tips for taking a prize with this recipe: (1) Give it a good name that includes the word chocolate. No offense to Rick, but call it something like “Chocolate Chili Cha Cha”. This also warns away anyone who may be allergic to the key ingredient. (2) Offer two toppings only: sour cream and shaved chocolate. (Let the competition keep that dull cheddar cheese.) (3) Add a few dashes (or more) of cayenne pepper to give it a little pep. (4) Cut back on the BBQ sauce as others suggested, but consider adding ¼ cup of brown sugar. But be careful: don’t make it too sweet. (5) Add more beans (as I did) if you feel the meat to bean ratio is too large. (6) Make it 36 to 48 hours prior to the competition to allow the flavors to meld. Also, many people commented that the chili reminded them of a mole (MOH-lay) – a traditional Mexican sauce served over chicken or turkey that incorporates chocolate but is not typically sweet. So, you may want to consider serving it with hot corn tortillas (instead of corn bread). The idea is to set your chili apart from the rest of the competition. Good luck…and may the best chili win. Yours. [One last note: I sliced the onions into thin rounds and sautéed them in a little of the bacon grease. Delicious.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I entered this recipe in a Chili CookOff and won two prizes. One for "Best" chili and the other for "Spiciest" chili. I reccommend adding fresh jalepenos and a little garlic. I also would change the BBQ sauce to a brown sugar based BBQ 16-18 oz. bottle. Overall it was a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I made this for a chili cookoff last night and won 3rd place! It really is good BUT all the reviews about decreasing the amount of BBQ sauce were right on the money. The chili tastes a little like BBQ. I would at least halve the amount of sauce. It is really flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
My husband loves Chili. Me...not so much. I generally make it when I want something fairly easy and need to stock up the freezer with left-overs for future busy nights. However, this recipe was excellent. I consider myself a pretty decent cook but chocolate? Well, I could not fathom this ingredient making so much difference in a dish but I read the reviews and decided to test. Very nice addition and now I'm dreaming of using in other recipes for depth. Spicy sausage was a very nice addition as well. Thanks for the post, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I made this for a Chili Cookoff and won the grand prize, 20 our of 23 votes! The BBQ sauce and bacon were wonderfull flavors! I also made a zapped in a food processer sour cream and cilanto for the top, soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I've made this twice now, the last time was last month for a large family gathering. Everyone commented on how great it was and wanted the recipe. My husband and I both agree it was the best chili we've ever had. We froze a bunch of it and have been using it over nachos, and added to velveeta cheese dip for holiday gatherings. YUM! I made the following adjustments: - For the spicy sausage, I used one pound of hot and one of mild - Added one additional 12 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapeno peppers - Added a dash of cayenne pepper - Used brown sugar bbq sauce instead of hickory smoked - Used three cans of kidney beans instead of four, was plenty! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Using this recipe, I won 1st place at a church chili-cook off! I noticed that others have written about similar success. The only changes I made to the recipe were using half the amount of hickory barbecue sauce and using uncured bacon. I should also note that I used Asian Indian chili powder. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Yum, yum!! I made this exactly as written and got rave reviews at my Halloween party. Made what I thought was a huge batch but 8 adults polished off almost all but a small bowl (I wanted some for the next day!). I made Absolute Mexican Cornbread which was soooo tasty and complimented it perfectly. I made the chili the day before, let simmer for 2 hours, then overnight in the fridge. Warmed up great the next day and was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this when it was my turn to host our bookclub meeting and "wow" what a winner! We all loved it and I have certainly put it up to them to serve a better supper when its their turn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States