Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
wonderful!! My husband, someone is always critical when it comes to food said this was the best chili he ever has had. he didn't even complain about left overs. I did follow the other reviewers advice and cut the BBQ sauce in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this chili for Superbowl last year and it was popular enough to make a repeat appearance this year. BUT, I needed to make one important tweak (hence the 4 stars). I now use only one cup of the bbq sauce so it adds a SUBTLE element to this chili rather than an overwhelming one. I also recommend adding half the chili powder if you like a subtle spiciness. Half the amount of chili powder along with the spicy sausage makes for a subtle spiciness. But if you like it hot, by all means add the full amount. This recipe makes a TON of chili, so it's perfect for a large crowd. Tip: your cooking pot needs to be bigger than 8 quarts if you are going to simmer the chili in the pot. I mix the whole thing up in my 8 quart stock pot but it's too full to actually let it simmer in, so I then split it between two slow cookers and cook on low heat for the entire day. Makes the house smell delicious. Popular with everyone, kids and adults alike, this is definitely meat lovers chili - my daughter dubbed it 'Man Chow'. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is one of the best chilis I have ever tasted and I generally am not a big chili fan. I make chili every Superbowl (because that's what people do), but after making this- yum! There is only one other I know of that would compete with it- My neighbor Scott makes a rockin' pulled pork chili. Anyway, if you make Rick's you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Just didn't care for this chili. I like things sweet but this was too sweet. I cut the recipe in half and used a 12 oz bottle of BBQ and it was still too sweet. I added sauteed green peppers and onions and lots of other things to try and "fix" the taste but this was really pedestrian chili. My husband said it was "fine" but that's not what I'm going for. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This chili is excellent! It takes a while to prepare but it is definitly worth it. I love the smokyness of the bacon in it. I did not use bbq sauce but i use a dash of liquid hickory smoke and it turned out really nice. I did put some carots, corn and celery in it because i love vegies in my chili. I also used 3 different kind of beans to have different colors and textures. I used more tomato sauce, more chili powder and more chocolate because i haded a lot of vegetables and needed more spices. I also used a bit of cayenne pepper powder. I will deffinitly make this again, it is excellent with sour cream and corn chips. I now have a huge batch i will enjoy for the rest of the winter! (i used my crock pot and a big soup pot...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very strong even after cutting the amount of barbeque sauce in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I get asked to make this every family get together, though the prep for this chili is over an hour its absolutely worth it...I also add cavendars to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This would have got a 5 - but the last added ingredient ruined it for me! The unsweetened chocolate added a burnt taste :( I will make the recipie again sans the chocolate and it will definitely be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe after reading all the chili contests it had won. I was a bit dissapointed. The taste was very BBQy. Too sweet for Chili. My family didn't seem too thrilled either. PLENTY of left-overs... ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Rick is either a culinary genius or got lucky trying to figure out a new/better way to fix chili. I have a pretty good recipe for chili, but thought I would give this a try when we had about fifty friends and neighbors over for our annual holiday gathering. I made my recipe as well as Rick's. Both were finished off and well received, but Rick's got the raves. I used 2lbs. of chorizo sausage, 2lbs. of ground beef and 1lb. of pulled pork as well as the 1lb. of bacon. I mixed up the beans a bit using 1 can of dark red kidneys, 1 can of light red kidneys, 1 can of pintos and 1 can of great northerns. I also added about 2 tbs. of ground cumin. I took it slow adding the bbq sauce, tasting as I added, but ended up using the full 32ozs. Great flavor! Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States