Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this for a chili cook off at culinary school. I followed the recipe but also the reviews for less BBQ sauce and a lil brown sugar. Also followed a review for using a little of the chocolate as a garnish... That was the only mistake. Gives the dish a slightly unpleasant bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Armand F Lattizori
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This chilli is amazing just the way it is, or with some added heat. Its so good, a dinner guest once ate their finger after dipping it in for a taste. Ok, I'm embellishing a bit, but it is really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My husband works 12 hour days and takes this for lunch every day. We divide it up into meals and freeze them and he just pops one into his lunch box in the morning and microwaves it for lunch. We did make a few changes. He uses Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet and Spicy BBQ sauce. And he doubles the chili powder and adds tobasco hot sauce. We also double the bacon! It is a great recipe and allows for the ability to adjust the taste to suit whoever is eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this chili yesterday, despite having some reservations about the BBQ sauce, bacon and sausage the recipe called for, which I've never used in chili before. It turned out fabulous! Thick, rich, lots of flavor. Perfect heat. I followed the recipe pretty closely though I cut it down to10 servings instead of the 20 in the original recipe. I also cut down on the amount of bbq sauce. I only used about half a cup. I was afraid the bbq flavor would overpower the chili flavor. I used Johnsonville spicy italian sausage, (removed the casings and cut into bite size pieces) and used two 15 oz cans of Bush's chili beans with sauce, (one red and one black bean, one medium spicy and one mild) instead of kidney beans. I also used bittersweet baking chocolate 66% cacao instead of unsweetened chocolate. Oh my goodness -- so good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Wow! I've never made great chili, so when my hubby entered his new business in our local school's (where I happen to teach) Homecoming Tailgate Chili Cook-Off, I wasn't pleased. I saw this recipe and decided to give it a try. I'm so glad I did. You can add another 1st place trophy to your growing collection of fan wins, Rick! I did cut the BBQ sauce down a little and I only had 1# of spicy sausage, but it was perfect. The only thing I'd like to change is the prep time. It took me about 50 minutes to get all of the ingredients simmering in the pot. Thanks Rick! Love, love, love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Best chili I ever made. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made this last Saturday NFL Chili Contest and as many others wrote, I too won first prize !!! I never made chili in my life but read the reviews and decided this was the recipe I'd use. Thanks everyone. I used a 1/4C chili powder and 16oz honey barbeque as other's said. Also no corn in recipe but in the picture so I threw some frozen corn in. I have a knocked out recipe for corn bread if anyone wants it let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a HUGE hit. I made it for the homeless men and women our church picks up and I have made it for family. People can't get enough of it. I CANT GET ENOUGH OF IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Quick (I didn't know chili could be quick!), easy, delicious. The first time I made it I did find the barbecue sauce flavour to be a little overpowering, so I reduced that to taste the second time I made it. Also added about a teaspoon of cayenne because I just wasn't feeling the spiciness I wanted from the chili powder (probably my fault for using dollar store chili powder). I like recipes that give great results without having to spend all day in the kitchen, and this definitely fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Awesome chili. I have made it for two parties and both times absolute hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States