Chili Rellenos Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
this was wonderful and I truly loved it! i used the enchilada sauce over the tomato and used a smaller pan then suggested. i also used diced chilies. i used 2 whole eggs and added one egg white. fallowed the cooking times and turned out very tasty! thank you for the recipe and thanks for the tips as well! i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandac10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bavaria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
It's even better the second day. I used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, as reviewers recommended. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great recipe! I will make it again, and again. My mom is a seasoned chili rellenos consumer and thought it was amazing! I did make adjustments though. It calls for way to much cheese and to big of a pan, use a square and cook it a little longer. I also added black olives during the last minutes of cooking. Next time I am going to add three eggs and see how firm it gets and enchilada sauce. I will make this again and again and maybe try a layer of cornbread? Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family loves this dish. I changed it a bit. I sauteed one medium onion and spread it in the chilis before I poured the egg milk mixture. I also added granulated garlic for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This got rave reviews even from my 3 kids 11,12,13!! I used almost a whole large can of chilies( 27 oz) 3 eggs ,just the evaporated milk(about 6 oz) 8x8, and it did take a bit longer to set then the specified time. Then topped with enchilada sauce ,cheese, green onion and black olives. It was awesome and not too spicy for the kids. Oh I also just used Colby jack cheese. It looked so good I forgot to take a pic- next time!! Served with sour cream and Spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I tried to incorporate a couple suggestions from the reviews: (1) I used 3 egg whites and 1 yolk, (2) I used all evaporated milk rather than half regular milk, and (3) I used enchilada sauce (and when I found that quite runny as I was adding it, I stopped and switched to tomato sauce). I found the egg/flour/milk mixture turned out a little too fluffy and a little too sweet (wasn't bad, just wasn't quite right for chile rellenos). Otherwise I really enjoyed this! So if I use this recipe again, I'll stick to the recipe entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Flavor was good but it came out as a soupy mess. I noticed that some reviews said only 5 oz evap. Milk but some said the entire can of 12 oz so I was confused. I used the whole can and maybe that is why. I cooked it longer than suggested when I noticed that it wasn't firming up, but that didn't help. I did notice that when I pit the leftover away that it was a little better, so letting it rest might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
There was no substance to this dish. To me this would be better suited as an appetizer possibly rather than a main dish. Perhaps using some shredded chicken and tortillas to give layers would make it better. The taste was a bit lackluster, but that is why I try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is just like a chile relleno but much simpler to make. I roasted and peeled the poblano peppers and only used the evaporated milk and El Pato sauce rather than the tomato sauce. It exceeded my expectations! This is a keeper and as one other reviewer stated, this will be an excellent breakfast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is one of our favorite Mexican dishes! We've had it before, but had never added evaporated milk to it. We usually just added fat free milk. Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great! This time making it was extra spicy because I didn't deseed the peppers. I also just added 1 8oz pack of cheddar jack cheese instead of another 8oz of cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States