Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed these and so did my husband (much to my surprise.) I added a dried red chile because I like spice. Also followed the other reviewers suggestions of adding chicken broth to the potatoes and used the entire 10 ounce can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was good. I added black beans to the potatoes and added more spice. What a great idea! Thanks jenneumann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made a couple of changes. I added a small container of sour cream to the potatoes, because they seemed dry. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce, and it could still probably have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Unlike many, I was not skeptical of these - I'll do about anything with a potato, and I don't need (or care to have) meat at every meal - it's easy enough to add protein like beans on the side. I made this almost as is, except I didn't quite make mashed potatoes, but just sorta squished them a bit. And I used burrito size flour tortillas and this seemed about enough to fill four. Pretty good overall, but I agree that the potatoes can be a bit bland. I think something that would help is simply putting some of the enchilada sauce in with the potato mixture so that you're getting it with every bit. I think black beans is an interesting idea too, though haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Added corn and black beans to potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PunchDrunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My hubs was very skeptical of this recipe but the whole family really enoyed it. I used a taco packet that was opened already and the minced garlic for the seasoning. I added some black beans that were opened as well as a dollop of sourcream to the mixture. My potatoes were on the small side so I used 5 and I was able to get 4 good sized burritos out of this. This was wonderful and I didn't have a problem with lack of taste or dryness. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce. I'll def make again when we have excess potatoes around for a quick and easy meal. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I was skeptical at first, when I first made these I put to much potatoes in them and not enough cheese. The second time I put about half potatoes and half cheese making them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have to say I was a bit skeptical about these, but I am so glad I gave them a try. They were delicious and my whole family kept raving about them. I did make a few changes per the other reviews. I added much more spices so the potatoes were not bland. I didn't mash the potatoes, but instead kept them whole and mixed them with black beans and corns. They ended up getting somewhat mashed, but gave the burritos texture. I did add a little more cheese inside the burritos to keep them moist. I definitely suggest using a homemade enchilada sauce, because it makes all the difference. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These burritos seemed dry inside and very dense and heavy. While the taste was okay, it seemed almost dry to me. If I make this again, I would rather do the potatoes differently. I think next time I would cut them into small pieces and bake them (covered) with the spices to cook them. Then I would put together the potatoes and cheese in the tortillas, but keep them on the smaller/lighter side. It also lends itself to adding other things, like beans, onions, olives, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
wonderful spicy recipe for a cold, blustery day.very filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States