Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
For the wife and I not being vegetarians [although we used to be] this was an excellent dish! I did take some pointers from others. For example I did put some chicken broth in with the water to give the potatoes a bit more flavor along with about 5 dashes of tabasco sauce...I incorporated about a 1/4 of an onion [thats all we had on hand] and a chili pepper into the potato mix...Also I used 5 potatoes instead of 4...I used a full cup of cheese in the potato mixture and just sprinkled some cheese on top of the burritos as I felt necessary...I used the entire can of enchilada sauce [10 oz] and used 6 [10 inch] tortillas instead of the 8 [6 inch] tortillas...was able to cook that in a 9x9 glass pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My husband and I cannot get enough of these! We just add black beans and corn and follow the rest of the recipe as written. I'm veg, so I use Daiya cheese in/on my enchiladas, then they're a delicious vegan meal. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I diced my potatoes but did not mash (they were pretty mashed after stirring anyway). Added a regular can of mexi-corn and a regular can of black beans in addition to a whole diced onion. Upped cheese to 1 c. in filling and 1/4 c. on top. Added a bit of sour cream to potatoes - started with 2 T and kept adding until the mixture didn't seem so dry. Added a packet of taco seasoning to potatoes (start with 3/4 and go from there). Didn't use much enchilada sauce but topped mainly with green salsa verde taco sauce. Yum! Filling! One was enough for me with some Spanish Rice! I filled 8 tortillas but still have enough filling for at least 4 more - we'll be eating this for lunches, too. Great for the budget and the stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipe was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very good! Next time I will saute onions and add them to the potato mix. I used the homemade enchilada sauce from the website. Very heavy dish - you could very easily make half a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I had a little bit of chicken, but not enough for burritos. I also had potatoes to use, so I tried to find something that could work as a filler with the chicken. This did the job perfectly and it tasted wonderful! The spices added a nice flavor to the potatoes. I added few things I like such as fresh cilantro. Just be sure that the potatoes are cooked all the way. Mine were firm and I thought they would soften as they baked. Not so. Some of them ended up tasting uncooked. This is a great way to add a filler or to use up potatoes, or just have a nice vegetarian burrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
need to use better ingredients next time. use better enchillada sause and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed these and so did my husband (much to my surprise.) I added a dried red chile because I like spice. Also followed the other reviewers suggestions of adding chicken broth to the potatoes and used the entire 10 ounce can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was good. I added black beans to the potatoes and added more spice. What a great idea! Thanks jenneumann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made a couple of changes. I added a small container of sour cream to the potatoes, because they seemed dry. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce, and it could still probably have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States