Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I've read lots of the reviews under this recipe and have taken to heart a few things that really helped..first..this recipe for 4 servings needs an 8.5 x 11 pan to fit all the roll-ups into..and second...definitely needed more spice...so, what I have done to cut corners a bit is added 3/4 pkg of taco seasoning (I bet chili seasoning would work great too) and still added the garlic. I also added a small amount of corn, but next time will double it (I suggest about 1 cup). I also added lots more enchilada sauce--actually the whole jar! My husband's comment was, "You can definitely make this one again!" My daughter's comment was "Just a little too spicy"...but then again, she did eat it right up! :) To go with this recipe, I made the 'Salad de Colores' found on this website--and the two go marvelously together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I made some changes to the recipe and it turned out excellent. I added 1 can of whole kernal corn, 1 can of creole style black beans, and about 5 spoonfuls of diced Jalepenos. I had to use an 8x11.5 inch backing dish and also added a little bit more cheese and enchilada sauce. Very, very good. Would rate 5 stars with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I read the reviews so I added black beans and corn. I'm glad I did, because these were so good! I used small whole wheat tortillas and a big can of enchilada sauce. Yummy! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is a good basic recipe that I have never even heard of before. It is a little carb-heavy, so I would definitely recommend adding other things to the potatoes. I added fresh spinach sauteed with garlic, and a can of black beans. I also, like another reviewer, made the "red enchilada sauce" from this website. It was all really good, but it makes a LOT of food! I took the extra leftovers to work the next day, and people were asking for the recipe! I think it would be especially good to use with leftover mashed potatoes, otherwise it is a little bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I made this recipe for Cinco de Mayo and LOVED it. I made minor modifications that I gathered from the reviews. I added both black beans and corn and also added taco seasoning. I used a blend of fat free and reduced fat cheeses but I used way more than just one cup. I bought hot enchilada sauce by mistake but it turned out to be a happy accident. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These turned out very tasty. My husband was skeptical but he loved them. I thought they were just a touch too dry but it was nothing that cannot be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is a great recipe. I added one can of black beans, one can of mexi-corn and seasoned with half pack of taco seasoning mix. I still added the called for spices and it was not too much spice. I also added a little more cheese and definitely extra enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Unlike many, I was not skeptical of these - I'll do about anything with a potato, and I don't need (or care to have) meat at every meal - it's easy enough to add protein like beans on the side. I made this almost as is, except I didn't quite make mashed potatoes, but just sorta squished them a bit. And I used burrito size flour tortillas and this seemed about enough to fill four. Pretty good overall, but I agree that the potatoes can be a bit bland. I think something that would help is simply putting some of the enchilada sauce in with the potato mixture so that you're getting it with every bit. I think black beans is an interesting idea too, though haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This was good, but it was a little dry. Next time I'll definitely add some more sauce as well as green chiles or jalapenos for some spice. Onions would be good and I like others' suggestions for corn and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I thought this was a great recipe. I added one can of black beans, seasoned with cumin and chili powder. I still added the called for spices and it was not too much spice. I think maybe a little more cheese would be good next time, and definitely agree on the extra enchilada sauce. I think you could add shredded chicken to this too and it would be great. Really a hardy tasty meal. Will definitely make again! THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States