Chili Potato Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My hubs was very skeptical of this recipe but the whole family really enoyed it. I used a taco packet that was opened already and the minced garlic for the seasoning. I added some black beans that were opened as well as a dollop of sourcream to the mixture. My potatoes were on the small side so I used 5 and I was able to get 4 good sized burritos out of this. This was wonderful and I didn't have a problem with lack of taste or dryness. I used the entire can of enchilada sauce. I'll def make again when we have excess potatoes around for a quick and easy meal. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I was skeptical at first, when I first made these I put to much potatoes in them and not enough cheese. The second time I put about half potatoes and half cheese making them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have to say I was a bit skeptical about these, but I am so glad I gave them a try. They were delicious and my whole family kept raving about them. I did make a few changes per the other reviews. I added much more spices so the potatoes were not bland. I didn't mash the potatoes, but instead kept them whole and mixed them with black beans and corns. They ended up getting somewhat mashed, but gave the burritos texture. I did add a little more cheese inside the burritos to keep them moist. I definitely suggest using a homemade enchilada sauce, because it makes all the difference. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These burritos seemed dry inside and very dense and heavy. While the taste was okay, it seemed almost dry to me. If I make this again, I would rather do the potatoes differently. I think next time I would cut them into small pieces and bake them (covered) with the spices to cook them. Then I would put together the potatoes and cheese in the tortillas, but keep them on the smaller/lighter side. It also lends itself to adding other things, like beans, onions, olives, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
wonderful spicy recipe for a cold, blustery day.very filling as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I found this dish to be very heavy. If I wanted to eat mashed potatoes, I would rather do it without a tortilla wrapped around them. However, as plain mashed potatoes, they were delicious. I just don't think this makes for a very good burrito. It just made me feel gross after I ate it for dinner. My husband, however, loved them. Too bad for him, because I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I followed others' suggestions for this. I used the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe on the site, and added some minced onion and more spice into the potato mixture. I also found the potato's were very dry when I mashed them up (could have been the type of potato I used) so I added some chicken broth before mixing with cheese and spices. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
YUM! We were looking for a filling vegetarian meal and these burritos were great! I added a can of fat free refried beans and an onion. Used a whole can of enchilada sauce on top. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great base recipe! I added some hamburger for the hubby (if there's no meat it's not a complete meal). So I only used 2 potatoes and about 1 pound of meat. I also mixed in a can of rotell tomatoes to the meat and potato mixture. Overall, this couldn't be beat! It will be made again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
We liked these. I had to add a lot more cheese and more seasoning (extra chili powder and some fajita seasoning I had on hand)so it wasn't so bland. Next time I will use the whole can of enchilada sauce instead of the amount specified in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevellechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States