Chili Mac, Mexican Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight with a couple of changes. Fist I used extra lean ground beef in place of the chorizo due to personal taste and the high fat content in the chorizo. I also did not have poblano peppers so I used a can of chopped green chili's and a can of chopped jalepenos instead. Lastly I added 1 T chili powder and 1t ground cumin to add flavor since I didn't use the chorizo. It turned out pretty good. The hubby have it the thumbs up. I will make this again. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was more time consuming than I thought it would be, so that is why it has 4 stars. I used soy sausage to make it vegetarian. I didn't have mexican oregano. It was missing something, so it must have been the oregano. Other than that it was really good. So good that I will make again and again provided that I have the time and maybe some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I found this quite easy and fairly quick to make. I used poblano's and tom's from my garden and went with soy chorizo. Ultra tasty! IMO, Mexican oregano gives the dish a certain flavor as opposed to regular. Did anyone else notice that the recipe fails to tell you at what step to add the cooked chorizo??? After it says to "set aside" , it is never mentioned again. Will def make again with a few variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I used 1 package of Trader Joe's soy-chorizo, and ta-da it's vegan! I also added a can of corn and some cumin. Oh and if you have a toaster oven, broil your peppers there, it is much more efficient than heating up the oven. This recipe is really easy and simple to make, and very flavorful with the perfect amount of heat. I've made this multiple times for friends to show that vegan food isn't bland and scary. This is delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Mkay, how do I tell you how I changed this.... not a lot but some... First, I couldn't find pablano peppers so I used pasilla peppers (are they the same? idk), in addition I had a red bell pepper that needed using so I blackened that on up too. I used whole grain pasta that was 13 oz. so I just used it all. To compensate for the extra pasta, I added a can of rotel and a can of undrained sweet corn (more veggies and color!!!). I skipped the added salt because my chorizo was plenty salty to do the trick. Since the recipe does not state when to add the chorizo again, I did it at the very end when the pasta was done. Topped it off with a small pinch of Mexican cheese blend and a small dollop of light sour cream. Pretty healthy if you make sure to drain that chorizo! Tasty too! My 8 year old came up to me and was like, "Mom that dinner was..." , didn't say anything more but puffed up his cheeks, motioned with his hands like his head was blowing up and made an exploding noise.... I said, "What was that? You mean mind blowing?" He said...."Oooohhhh Yeah!" LOL! Silly boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very time consuming and there could be short cuts but I wont be trying it again. My husband hated it and we love cooking authentic and Mexican style foods. I added cheese and corn to add more flavor and color but still fell short. Wasn't spicy enough added Cheyenne pepper for more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agravley87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GatorCourtney
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for a banquet and it was pretty good, but it took me quite awhile to make it. It's certainly not a simple recipe that you can whip up quick. At least I wasn't able to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Quite yummy. Followed recipe exactly (except for throwing in a small can of corn and using regular oregano) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
We love this recipe!! I did make some changes. I combine browned ground beef with the Chorizo, I add a can of green chile instead of poblanos, I use a package of chili mix and I add some frozen sweet corn. WE LOVE THIS SO MUCH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was pretty good. I added 3/4 packet of homemade taco seasoning instead of salt and pepper to give it a little extra flavor. I put the pasta in uncooked and it cooked up fine in about 15 minutes without adding any extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States