Chili Mac Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
The first i made this as written, not enough flavor or color, ONLY 2 star. Used HUNTS seasoned tomato sauce for meatloaf and more chili power. only 1 pound ground chuck and 2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni and it was Great, 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very good and hearty meal. You can spice it up or tone it down, add ingredients...just a good, all around basic casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Absolutely loved it! Will make it again. I used chili pepper flakes instead of the chili powder. Besides that, the flavor and spice was there. The layer of cheese topped it off. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I read many of the reviews prior to trying this recipe and made the following adjustments: used one pound of ground beef instead of two; seasoned the meat mixture with taco seasoning; used only 1/2 tsp of salt; substituted chili beans for the kidney beans. My family LOVED it and asked me to make it again next Saturday. Great recipe...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great base recipe, but like others mentioned, the spices need to be bumped up. Instead of salt, I used taco seasoning and used a whole tablespoon of chili powder. Add some corn and salsa, and you got something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I wanted to make a huge batch so, I used an entire box of macaroni, which may have been a little too much. Any who.. I used 2 packets of chili seasonings and I think I should've used 3 because of the amount of macaroni. But, we still loved the recipe. Also, I used half italian sausage and half ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I used rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis since i was making it for the kiddos and thought a separate can of green chilis would be too spicy for them, turned out to be a nice amount of spice. If i make it again i would add more tomato paste or possibly use velveeta nacho/mexican cheese as i thought it was a little dry-not enough binder. Good base just needs some tweaking to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I did make a few changes. I used 2 cups of uncooked mac and was a little heavy handed on the spices. It seemed a little dry so I added some beef broth. It was an easy, filling, and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelshope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Good food for my guys. I put a little cheese in the sauce before baking and served it with sour cream. Fairly quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a very easy dish to make, but it was really bland. I even put more spice than was in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States