Chili-Lime Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This recipe was delicious! I followed it exactly and doubled it so I'd have enough to marinate all the veggies in. I didn't exactly taste either the chili or the lime, I just tasted that it was delicious! My husband said he could definitely taste the chili though. I wouldn't recommend marinating it longer than 4 or 5 hours though b/c I marinated for 4 and the chicken was starting to fall apart...the combination of lime juice and vinegar really breaks down the chicken quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
10 stars for sure..This marinade was fabulous. The only changes were I doubled the recipe and added 3 limes opposed to two(for which I used a glass lemon juicer to get all the juice possible and the pulp), some zest from one lime and instead of garlic powder I went with a fresh clove minced and I also added in some fresh cilantro for our taste preference. Marinaded for 3 or so hours and I couldn't eat enough pieces. YUMMY! The perfect amount of lime and chili taste. Will be making often this summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I did not make kabobs with this; instead, I marinated 4 chicken breasts overnight in the marinade and broiled these. They were really good and tender with a nice kick to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I have made this so many times I habve lost count. Great on the BBQ or if it;s to cold outside I broil (but watch it not to close to the top)I have also cooked in a skillet if I am in a real hurry. Try cooking with tomatoe peppers and pineapple chunks on skewers, my daughter par boiled potatoe then put that on a skewer with the chicken brushed the potatoe with butter great for a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These are definitely more spicy than flavorful and come out very moist. I marinated these for 6 hours and skewered the chicken with red and green peppers, onions and cherry tomatoes. Next time I think I'll use crushed garlic vs. garlic powder, and increase the amount of lime juice for a bit more citrus flavor. Overall, it was very good served with southwestern rice. If you like spicy food, try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Made this vinaigrette a few weeks ago and will be making it again tomorrow night. I subbed Key Lime Juice and a clove of crushed garlic. Marinated chicken, shrimp and veggies (green & yellow squash, green & red peppers, cherry tomatos, mushrooms and pineapple chunks) before tossing them all on the grill. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
oh my goodness-someone please make my parents stop telling me how good this was!!!I made this on Memorial Day and they haven't stopped foaming at the mouth for them since.Not only a keeper but a staple at every picnic from here to the end of time for my Mom and Dad apparently.Thanks for a great recipe-you helped me win over some tough critics!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
These kabobs were a huge hit at our barbecue--everyone raved. The blend of citrus and spices was wonderful! I marinated the chicken in a Zip-Loc bag for 1 hour. The only thing I did differently was add about 1/2 tsp salt to the marinade, which really helped bring out the flavors. I didn't thread any veggies on the skewers. Instead, I grilled eggplant, zucchini, and red pepper slices separately and served them alongside, accompanied by Caribbean Sweet Potato Salad (also from this site). Thanks for a great new marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I was surprised how good this tasted. I doubled the marinade for 2 B&S chick. breasts; sauteed in skillet as we don't have a bbq and served over rice and sprinkled cheddar cheese on top. Even my picky husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I flubbed this so I am giving a 1 star meal (we ate something else for dinner instead), 3 stars to account for my mistake. I marinaded these for about 6 hours (using the juice from one fresh lime) but I still don't think that is long enough to get the good flavor that other reviewers have achieved. I was working w/ a new gas grill & I greatly overcooked them. But, as Michelle said, there wasn't enough flavor & what flavor did come through...was predominately chili powder. I added mushrooms & bell peppers to my skewers in hopes of making it a complete meal but I didn't marinade them (I don't think the lime would complement the mushrooms) & was afraid to add seasonings for fear of competing w/ the chicken marinade. The result...completely flavorless veggies that didn't add a thing to the dish. I don't know if I will ever try this dish again, I'm thinking that even if I had not overcooked it, that it still wouldn't have enough flavor for me ...sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States