Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I cut the meat back to 1.4 lbs and used 2 cans of kidney beans. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste. I added veggies (bell pepper and celery). I didn't have any chili powder, but I used 1/4 tsp Datil pepper and chopped some fresh peppers from the garden instead. This recipe is very adaptable - and the combination of balsamic vinegar, red wine and sun dried tomatoes makes this chili heartier. Family prefers this recipe over my older recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was gourmet chili! LOVED the unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
It was good. Add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I loved this spin on chili. I have been cooking chili a lot lately and wanted something different. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste. I used red wine vinegar instead of red wine. and I used diced tomato with onion instead of stewed tomato. I used the same spices and cant wait to taste this again tomorrow for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I didn't have garlic, so I used garlic powder and no cayenne or chili seasonings so I used 2 tbls of a pre-made chili seasoning. It was lovely. Made some fresh rolls for dipping and none lasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
SO delicious!! The wine and balsamic vinegar give it great flavor. Will definitely makes this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made this for a crowd - for 32 servings, added 4 chopped up jalapenos and 6 chopped up cooked italian sausages. Best Chili Ever! Would definitely win first place - enough bite and flavor to take home a blue ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Very interesting flavor. I used two and half times the chilli powder and also added chili beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
very good. I made mine a bit spicer. I prefer chili with no cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
That is was pretty good. I added 1/4 tsp cumin because I like the taste, but kept everything else the same. I like a mild chili so this one was perfect. I liked the balsamic vinegar. To thicken this a bit, I took the lid off the last 15 minutes and turned the heat up a bit to reduced the liquid. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States