Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
As a side note, I always chuckle when people rate a recipe without first trying it "as-written" and then say it isn't good. With this recipe in particular, following the instructions at least once is lesson in learning you won't regret. We were very impressed with this chili. We did make it as written, the only variable being the "dark beer" we selected (since the recipe doesn't specify a brand). We chose not to use Guiness and used a locally brewed dark that's a bit less sweet since previous reviews had suggested that the recipe had too much sugar. I'd have to agree. Next time we make it (and it was good enough that there will be a next time!), we'll cut back on cocoa and just a bit on the sugar, as other reviewers suggested. That said, as-is, it's an excellent recipe. I strongly encourage you to make it exactly as written first, so you know what adjustments you need to suit your taste--it's not "too" anything--it has a nice mix of sweet and spice and it's hard to say how much you'll need to adjust to suit your taste. The balance of flavors is really quite impressive. In other regards, the texture, consistency, and ratio of meat & beans is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this recipe for an informal chili "contest" among friends and was disappointed that the flavor was too sweet. However, when I pulled the leftovers out of my refridgerator the next day, the flavors had mingled and mellowed into something I can only describe as fantastic! If you're making the chili to eat the same day, decrease the sugar, by all means. But if you've got the time, let the pot chill; the result is well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
absolutely amazing...I've actually been making this chili since last fall, but haven't rated it. as the weather has been a bit like fall here, it was time to bring out the famed chili recipe. three people stopped by sunday and decided to stay for dinner after sticking their fingers in the pot....they're still talking about it! I only use 1 chili pepper and 1 TBLSPN chili powder so it's not so spicy. I use guiness beer, espresso, 1 large can kidney beans, 1 large can pinto beans, and 1 small can black beans instead of entirely kidney. I teamed it with the amusement park cornbread recipe on this site...another fabulous find! thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Bob's was the first chili recipe I found with over 300 reviews, so I knew it must have something unique going for it. I read the last 50 or so reviews and modifications, finding that the majority of reviewers commented on the marked enhancement of flavors when the chili was prepared a day in advance. Being a person who likes only mildly spicy food (my forehead starts to drip) I could see that modifications to the underlying spiciness would be easy. I like anything with beer in it (especially my stomach) and chocolate is also a favorite. My wife responded that with these flavors, it might be more Mexican. My recipe modifications consisted of following others' lead and mixing the type of beans (1 can kidney, black, chili and Great Northern), reducing the sugar a bit, also I substituted 3/4 # of coarsely ground beef for the sirloin. I like a thicker chili so I poured off the liquid of all but the chili beans, as they were in a "chili sauce" with cumin and cayenne. I used only 2 hot chili peppers, finely chopped, and reduced the chili powder to about 2 1/2 T. I had some Bitburger Bier and knew that it was a bit more "hoppy" or bitter, but I think any beer will do. My preparation modifications consisted of mixing all but the cooked ingredients first and letting them cohabit in the frig for several hours. I started the simmering process as I began to prepare the meat, onions and garlic, then mixed them into the simmering pot and let it carry on for a couple of hours. Th
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Excellent Chili recipe. I love it because it has so much rich flavor, not just a tomato based chili flavor. The steak chunks are perfectly tender and delicious. Made this last night for the 6th time. I finally have it down with modifications. The suggestions I have are 1. Use 1\4 cup brown sugar, I got many "too sweet" complaints. 2. Drain and rinse beans before adding. 3. Bump Ground beef to 1 1\2 pounds and sirloin to at least 1 pound. 4. Use other beans besides Kidney, I split 50-50 between black and dark red kidney. 5. Add a second can of diced tomatoes. The chili is much better the next day, my wife said it is the best batch so far. If you use 4 jalapeno peppers I think it gives a perfect medium heat on the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Made this the other night for the family. I used Samuel Adams Black Lager for the beer, Starbucks Christmas Blend for the coffee and homemade veal stock I keep on hand for the beef broth. I also used half kidney beans, half black. I used four different peppers that looked good in the market at the time. In this case 1 Anaheim, 1 Serrano, 1 Jalapeño and 1 Poblano--these are mostly on the less hot side of the Scoville scale. People, when the recipe calls for "hot chile peppers" you're not going to find them in the market marked as such, there are MANY kinds of chile peppers and the ones you choose will make your recipe more or less hot. For example, if you replaced Habanero for the Anaheim in the peppers I used you'd have a MUCH higher heat content. It turned really well. My wife--not a big chili fan--loved it. I used the full brown sugar and liked the sweetness. I would recommend trying it full sugar first to see if you prefer it that way. It starts out sweet and the chili peppers kick in as an after-taste. Served it with cheddar corn bread and the leftover beer and it was a big hit. The next day it was even better as the flavors come together and sirloin really tenderizes while marinating in the chili overnight. My only complaint is that it had too many beans. But that's a personal preference. Next time I'll cut the beans in half and add more meat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This chili is awesome!!!!! The sweetness balances out the spiciness; the spiciness brings out the sweetness. A perfect combination. This recipe was such a hit!! I was a bit skeptical about some of the ingredients and had to put a little $$ into buying the spices, but ohmigod, is it worth it! I used just ground beef, and also wasn't sure which peppers to buy, so I used the ones labeled "long hot peppers", which added only a green pepper flavor. Absolutely DO NOT leave out the cayenne pepper!!! I did the first time and it was okay, just a little blah. My second batch I added the cayenne and WOW, what a difference. Probably could leave out the cayenne if you used hotter peppers like jalapeno or serrano, etc. This recipe is a definite "keeper" and is definitely worth the extra prep work and buying the extra spices that I didn't have on hand. I will definitely be making this chili again. I usually hate chunks of vegetables but it all cooks down together and is soooo good! The addition of coffee, cocoa, and dark beer "scared" me at first since i don't like beer and had never used coffee and cocoa in anything other than desserts, but NO WORRIES, MON. Don't be scared. This stuff is awesome exactly as the author wrote it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
The thing I regret most about this recipe is that I HAD to sample it before serving and then I was too full by dinner time! I did, on the other hand watch my husband go back again & again! I browned the ground beef & sirloin, drained it & threw it in the crock pot for 7 hours (it was still sweet after about 4 hours, so I let it keep going). I will add a little more "heat" next time (we like it hot & the kids eat my regular version). Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
I found that the taste was much better the day after the chili was made. This recipe was a lot of work compared with my other dishes and I am not sure if it was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Hi Everyone. I am the original poster of this recipe. I posted it back in 2000 under the name ROBTX99, which I no longer use. I want to thank everyone for their great reviews, and suggestions. I spent a few years developing this recipe until I got just how I wanted it. I also now reduce the sugar a little at the suggestion of reviews received. Someone recently posted that this is a copy of a recipe used by Sam Adams. Not sure where that came from since this is my orignal recipe that I have been making since the 1990's. It has won numerous chili cookoffs over the years. Thanks again and ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States