Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This won the chili cook off at my office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Kenaga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I just won a first place at a chili contest with this recipe! My kids all loved it, including my 2 year old. Since this was my first time making it, I didn't want to make any changes, but did decrease the beans, only because I doubled the recipe and I couldn't fit any more in the pot. Next time--oh yes, there will be a next time--I will try to lower the liquid as I like a thicker chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. If you like strong flavors like dark chocolate and dark coffee, you will enjoy it. For a less spicy version for my guests, I used two poblano peppers and two jalapeños, and I used a milder cayenne pepper. I also used 100% dark baking chocolate in place of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I read all the reviews saying this recipe was too sweet so I reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup. What a mistake! I could not even taste the sweetness so next time I will use the 1/2 cup measurement. I also do not like it hot so I added only 1 poblano pepper but I will try 2 next time. I did use all the chilli and cayenne and liked it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
the best chili I have ever made or tasted ! I put in about two tablespoons of the sugar and less chili powder and cumin.. put in 4 different hot chilis and 4 different cans of beans..white northern,black,kindney and pintos..used bud light because that's what I drink. loved this and cant wait to serve it for superbowl tomorrow. go niners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I added the peppers with the meat & onions. This chili is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The beer and coffee set this chili apart from the others. 5 starts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent Chili recipe. I have made this twice already this winter and I am making it again tonight. I think I have tweaked it to my liking pretty well so this third time should be great. Some things I have noticed. The coffee flavor is quite strong. I used a Starbucks dark roast the first time, and the coffee flavor was a bit strong for my liking. I switched to a milder brew the second time and liked it much better. The spiciness level depends a lot on what peppers you use. I used two Jalapenos and some Serrano and the flavor was a bit mild for my taste. I think I could add a Habernero or two and call it good. I have also found that a little Sriracha goes really well in this Chili. I don't really like traditional Chili Beans, so I put a lot of Black Beans in mine, and it works well. Lastly, I do this crock pot style and it turns out great. For anyone who is looking to get more adventurous with their Chili, this is a fantastic recipe to do so. It's easily tweakable to your tastes and it's pretty solid right out of the gate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KID_A26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It's ok and seems to taste better with sour cream. It doesn't knock my socks off though; something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was wayyyy too sweet and I did not care for the mix of beer and coffee. One or the other might be good. I had several others taste it and they liked it a tad more but all agreed it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States