Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
As another reviewer stated, I would make this as is and then change it for your tastes. As written, it is a "Bean chili with meat" recipe. That means that every bite will be full of beans with some slight meat pieces. If you want "Meat chili with beans", meaning each bite will have meat and a few beans, I would reduce the beans from 4 cans to 3 and increase the sirloin to 1 1/4 pounds if you like a beef stew texture or increase the ground meat to 1 1/2 pounds if you like a ground beef texture. AS FAR AS THE SUGAR goes, use 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup and taste it when the chili is done. If you still think it needs sugar just stir it in. BAM sugar problem solved. Now you don't have to worry if you should use less sugar. Also, the recipe does not state to wash the beans or not. I dumped all four cans with juice in and it was fine. If you like thick chili (like spoon it on a cracker) then I would throw the juice out before I put the beans in or cook longer without a lid on. The next time I am going to add some corn so that it has a crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this tonight for my family....They loved it...used red pepper flakes instead of cayenne,pinto beans instead of kidney beans,no cocoa because we were out of it and my secret ingredient (prepared mustard)...family said it was the best chili I ever made....Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernstyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pinson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is the ONLY chili I make... and have been for the past 9 years! I use Guinness for the beer, and sometimes dutch process cocoa. Just the right amount of heat, enough to feel it, but not so much my very mild son won't eat it. Have won several scout "cook-off's" with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this last night for the first time for a group of restaurateurs no less and it went down a storm! I used extra mince instead of the sirloin and was a little heavier than suggested on the seasoning and it came out even better than expected! Also made sure I used a high quality beer, wheat based and largely on the hoppy side without the usual hints of banana that comes with a wheat beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is amazing!!! I don't like hot and spicy chili so I only put just a couple of sprinkles of chili in. Loved the flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
First and Last chili recipe I will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle-Jade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used this recipe in my first ever cooking contest and won 1st place. I was a little skeptical with the odd combination of ingredients however, it tasted great. Reading the other reviews it was noted that it is a little sweet the first day so I cut back on the brown sugar and I added more cumin, cayenne pepper, chili pepper, and 2 pounds more graound beef instead of the cubed sirloin. I also added bell peppers and celery. This is a very thick, spicy yet sweet recipe. I can’t tell you enough how good this recipe was. The other contestants were surprised when they heard what ingredients were in the recipe. My suggestion is you make it as the recipe calls then tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I see why this received mixed revues. I personally did not add brown sugar because I do not like sweet chili and I prefer chili beans to kidney beans. My other change is that I hate anything with dark beer so I used a regular beer, but I followed everything else. I thought it still needed a bit of flavor so I added a touch of white vinegar and love it. My husband said it was delicious. If you don't like beer you can substitute additional broth, which I believe I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This had a very full chili flavor. I will use this recipe again in the future. I will probably cut the brown sugar back to either 1/3 cup or 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Best chili a chili lovers ever had, did change a little,doubled the steak(used round steak), half the beans,added green pepper also,cooked the meat as directed then just mixed everything else together in the crockpot. My go to recipe for chili from here on out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States