Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The BEST chili I have EVER made. Spectacular!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Even with half the brown sugar, it was on the sweet side. We added another can of tomatoes and a teaspoon of vinegar and it helped cut the sweetness. I would add sugar one tablespoon at a time. Otherwise, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This chili was so amazing! I used 2 jalapenos, a hot pepper and a habanero pepper. I didn't think it was too sweet at all. I even added a little ketchup. I think I did cut the sugar a tiny bit though because I didn't have the full amount on hand. This was the first time I ever made chili and I won the family cook off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassiebraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I left out the coffee on this recipe because I didn't feel like making it, but it was still delicious!! My famly loved it and I ate leftovers for almost two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious and easy to make. Perfect recipe for a weekend afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe the way is written is great! Of course like others, I modified some of the ingredients. I used 2.5 lbs of ground sirloin and 1 lb of Italian sausage with the casing removed. I sautéed a large onion, 3 stalks of celery, 1 green pepper and 1 yellow pepper in bacon fat. Added to my meat mixture. I used one can of chili beans, 1 can of white kidney beans not drained and I can of drained black beans. I used 4 bouillon cubes instead of the beef both because I wanted my chili to have a thicker consistency. I used Guiness beer and Starbuck's coffee. I used 4 cans of diced tomatoes, added some Worcester sauce, removed the coriander seeds and upped the chili powder to 4 Tbsps. I used 2 jalapeño peppers, 1 Serrano, 1 poblano and 1 Anaheim pepper. I simmered for 4 hours and my husband and stepson LOVED it(I used the 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was not too sweet). I vacuumed packed and frozen most and put a little aside for the next day and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I took the lady's advice to try it before judging it. I changed a couple of things to match what I had on hand. I used very lean ground sirloin only. I did change the beans to a dark and light mix. I used crushed tomatoes that were very thick instead of the paste. The real secret is the coffe, chocolate, beer and brown sugar. That gives the depth and richness I percieve. I tried the chili before adding the chocolate, coffee and brown sugar, and it was plain and a bit flat. Adding those three items sealed it. I always use those three in my baked bean recipe. I used about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, per so many people's opiniom. I will use this recipe again, perhaps with the sirloin cubes, to see what that might add. Kudos, Sir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Too sweet for me but my son liked it and especially liked the sweetness. We both liked the depth the beer and cocoa gave it. The texture was perfect! Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I did everything as directed and added sweet peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States