Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The beer and coffee set this chili apart from the others. 5 starts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent Chili recipe. I have made this twice already this winter and I am making it again tonight. I think I have tweaked it to my liking pretty well so this third time should be great. Some things I have noticed. The coffee flavor is quite strong. I used a Starbucks dark roast the first time, and the coffee flavor was a bit strong for my liking. I switched to a milder brew the second time and liked it much better. The spiciness level depends a lot on what peppers you use. I used two Jalapenos and some Serrano and the flavor was a bit mild for my taste. I think I could add a Habernero or two and call it good. I have also found that a little Sriracha goes really well in this Chili. I don't really like traditional Chili Beans, so I put a lot of Black Beans in mine, and it works well. Lastly, I do this crock pot style and it turns out great. For anyone who is looking to get more adventurous with their Chili, this is a fantastic recipe to do so. It's easily tweakable to your tastes and it's pretty solid right out of the gate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KID_A26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
It's ok and seems to taste better with sour cream. It doesn't knock my socks off though; something is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was wayyyy too sweet and I did not care for the mix of beer and coffee. One or the other might be good. I had several others taste it and they liked it a tad more but all agreed it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Love this recipe. When I made it the first time last winter I made it according to the original ingredients except for the sirloin, I used shaved steak because that what was I had, that cooks down and almost melts into the chili! However, it was too hot and way too many beans. So, now I cut back the chili to 3 T mexican chili powder, 1/2 tsp of cayenne, I can of red kidney beans, 2 fresh jalapenas without ribs or seeds, and my husbands request of 2 15oz cans of hominy. I used Sam Adams Holiday Porter. We top it with sour cream and grated cheddar cheese. This chili is so rich in taste! The chocolate, the coffee, and the brown sugar balance the spices and the heat. Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
So amazing, I limit it to 3 cans of beans (put 2 in for the 2 hours and the 1 for 30 minutes.) I put jalapeno instead of chili. I make it EXTRA spicy to get rid of how sweet it is. I also limit the amount of brown sugar I use to less than the serving. SO DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My go to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very good, not sure if it was worth all the money I spent on the ingredients though. My husband said it was as good as other chili I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe. Could be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Made a big batch of this chili. I followed the recipe exactly and found the results pretty underwhelming at first, so I let it sit in the fridge overnight and tried it again the next day -- delicious! Will make this again but give it more time to develop the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States