Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this last night for the first time for a group of restaurateurs no less and it went down a storm! I used extra mince instead of the sirloin and was a little heavier than suggested on the seasoning and it came out even better than expected! Also made sure I used a high quality beer, wheat based and largely on the hoppy side without the usual hints of banana that comes with a wheat beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is amazing!!! I don't like hot and spicy chili so I only put just a couple of sprinkles of chili in. Loved the flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
First and Last chili recipe I will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle-Jade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I used this recipe in my first ever cooking contest and won 1st place. I was a little skeptical with the odd combination of ingredients however, it tasted great. Reading the other reviews it was noted that it is a little sweet the first day so I cut back on the brown sugar and I added more cumin, cayenne pepper, chili pepper, and 2 pounds more graound beef instead of the cubed sirloin. I also added bell peppers and celery. This is a very thick, spicy yet sweet recipe. I can’t tell you enough how good this recipe was. The other contestants were surprised when they heard what ingredients were in the recipe. My suggestion is you make it as the recipe calls then tweak it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I see why this received mixed revues. I personally did not add brown sugar because I do not like sweet chili and I prefer chili beans to kidney beans. My other change is that I hate anything with dark beer so I used a regular beer, but I followed everything else. I thought it still needed a bit of flavor so I added a touch of white vinegar and love it. My husband said it was delicious. If you don't like beer you can substitute additional broth, which I believe I will do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This had a very full chili flavor. I will use this recipe again in the future. I will probably cut the brown sugar back to either 1/3 cup or 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Best chili a chili lovers ever had, did change a little,doubled the steak(used round steak), half the beans,added green pepper also,cooked the meat as directed then just mixed everything else together in the crockpot. My go to recipe for chili from here on out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have cooked this again and again for my family and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This won the chili cook off at my office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I just won a first place at a chili contest with this recipe! My kids all loved it, including my 2 year old. Since this was my first time making it, I didn't want to make any changes, but did decrease the beans, only because I doubled the recipe and I couldn't fit any more in the pot. Next time--oh yes, there will be a next time--I will try to lower the liquid as I like a thicker chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States